We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All should visit here at least once.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parliament Hill and Buildings

Parliament Hill and Buildings
Wellington Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A6, Canada
613-996-0896
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Parliament Hill and Buildings like an insider
Top Rated
$33*
and up
Ottawa City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #2 of 235 things to do in Ottawa
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Three Gothic Revival-style buildings, located on a 170-foot bluff overlooking the Ottawa River, house the offices of the members of Parliament, the House of Commons and the Senate. Free guided tours delve into Canadian history and explain the workings of the political system.
Algonquin Park
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“All should visit here at least once.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The buildings themselves are worth the visit, check out the library and the tower is a must, the only drawback is the reality of a full body scan before going up the peace tower, I guess that's progress, it's a shame here in Canada we have to worry this much.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,638
    763
    124
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“So much history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was a fantastic opportunity to see inside the historic Parliment buildings. The tour guide was friendly and knew a lot about the arcitecture and workings of the Canadian government. The tour was free and takes about 45mins.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CNY, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My title sums it up pretty well. As a contractor, my father influenced my love of architecture since a young age. The history in those walls are interesting enough on its own, let alone the beautiful craftsmanship that has gone into the building itself. Carving after carving, into wood and stone alike kept me enthralled. The archways, domed ceilings, and the library! Oh my, the library! The clock tower itself, as well as the view from it had me fighting off tears. It was a wonderful experience.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful but would have like more time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The pariliament buildings were beautiful to tour. I would have liked a bit more narrative from our tour guide, ie history, anecdotes, etc plus a little more time to view the portraits instead of just walking by. Basically toured the House of commons, the senate, the library and the rotunda, in about 40 min.Cannot really wander around as security people everywhere.Worth the tour just to see how beautiful it all is.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We did not take a guided tour, but the information office gave us a guide book, we followed a non guided tour, which was great we could do it in our own time.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parliament Hill and Buildings also viewed

 

Been to Parliament Hill and Buildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parliament Hill and Buildings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.