We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The National Hotel and Suites Ottawa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The National Hotel and Suites Ottawa to your Saves list
The National Hotel and Suites Ottawa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   361 Queen Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7S9, Canada (Formerly Delta Ottawa Hotel and Suites) (Byward Market Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
“Would stay again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

First of all, we drove over 15 hours straight, overnight, from Charlottetown to Ottawa. We realized that our check in time was 3pm, and had called ahead to see if we could get an earlier check in time. The woman on the phone said, although they couldn't guarantee anything, they would do our best. So we were pleasantly surprised when we called around 10:30am on our way in to the city and were told our room would be ready for us when we arrived. After such a long drive, that was the best news we could hear.

The room was clean, we had TWO balconies, and the hotel was quiet. There seemed to be a lot of families there, but we didn't have any issues with noise or anything in the hallways. The pool was nice, as was the hot tub.

We found the parking was a LITTLE bit pricey at $20 a night, but it included unlimited access in and out, so it wasn't that outrageous.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat. The staff were very friendly, the location was fantastic, just about a 20 minute walk to Byward Market, Parliament, etc. for under $100 a night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTurpin, Manager at The National Hotel and Suites Ottawa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for offering your feedback through the Tripadvisor site. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at The National Hotel and Suites Ottawa and found our location central to all of the sites in the nation’s capital. It’s nice to know you enjoyed the spaciousness of the guestrooms, and the outdoor balcony. I’m glad that we could accommodate your request for early check-in, especially after such a long drive. We would like to assure you that the parking fees are standard among hotels in the downtown area and that our rates are competitive with those of similar facilities. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    139
    75
    45
    18
See reviews for
84
81
24
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here Oct12/13. Staff were very friendly and very helpful. Room was comfortable and clean and well appointed. Very quiet and beds were very comfortable. Centrally located and within walking distance to sights. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTurpin, Manager at The National Hotel and Suites Ottawa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your kind comments through the Tripadvisor website. We were very pleased to learn you found the guestrooms comfortable and clean, and the hotel quiet. It was very nice of you to also mention our staff and how friendly and helpful you found them during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Had stayed at this property when it was a Delta hotel....looks alot the same. Staff were very friendly and accomodating. We stayed over Thanksgiving weekend with our boys 4 and 8. The boys love the slide, pool and play area. Still haven't out grown it either, we had a good time. Night was quiet, no parties. Suite was very spacious. Only real complaint is the tV's are small, not flatscreen and look dated. Price was reasonable for weekend and the views across the river to Quebec were awesome in fall.

Room Tip: get the suite, it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTurpin, Manager at The National Hotel and Suites Ottawa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for offering your great feedback on the Tripadvisor site. We’re glad you enjoyed the spaciousness of our suites with their tremendous views, and found the service friendly and accommodating. It’s also nice to know your children enjoyed access to the salt-water swimming pool, indoor two-storey waterslide and the play area. We hope you will visit again, we look forward to welcoming your Family back to The National Hotel and Suites Ottawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I would definitely stay here again. it is an older place but the rooms have been updated. Bathrooms are a bit dated and cruddy though. my favorite part was the view from the balcony and a bit of the parliment. food is really good at the restaurants. Also the nearby carmello's has great italian food.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTurpin, Manager at The National Hotel and Suites Ottawa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback and recommending The National Hotel and Suites Ottawa on the Tripadvisor site. We’re glad that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent the Thanksgiving weekend in Ottawa with our young grandsons. We stayed at The National. Excellent value for money. Pleasant, slightly retro, hotel (the furnishings and decoration a little tired.) Kid friendly. Good restaurants. Very pleasant staff. Good location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTurpin, Manager at The National Hotel and Suites Ottawa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience through the Tripadvisor site. We were pleased you enjoyed your Thanksgiving weekend with your grandsons at The National Hotel and Suites Ottawa, and found our staff very pleasant throughout your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Although this hotel seems like a great deal compared to other hotels in the vacinity.....beware! I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times, and each experience seems to be getting worse.
Since the hotel has changed to the "national hotel and suites" the service seems to have gone down hill - long slow line ups at the check in, slow room service etc.
The worst part is the parking garage which is currently operated by a traffic light due to construction, and there is no valet so you have to deal with the cranky attendants when going in and out who operate the garage with a shady ticket operation.
If you MUST stay at the hotel make sure you spend the extra to stay in one of their suites and not a regular room which is small, outdated, and on the noisy side of the hotel. The suites are spacious, alittle more up to date and the elevator is located in a convenient location unlike the non-suites.

Room Tip: Get a suite or else don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTurpin, Manager at The National Hotel and Suites Ottawa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback through the Tripadvisor site. We strive to exceed all of our guest’s expectations and were very sorry to learn this has not been your experience. The underground parking facility is not owned by the hotel and is operated independently. We are pleased to report though renovations to this area are now complete and the separate entry/exit ramps once again accessible. We were very concerned to learn of your experience with the parking attendant and will bring your comments to the attention of the management firm. We have also taken note of your comments concerning service levels at the hotel and will use your feedback as motivation to improve where necessary. We hope that you will allow us an opportunity to welcome you back, and we encourage you to contact our Guest Service Manager if we can be of any assistance during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

It is a good location. However, there are numerous hotels in the same area. The hotel itself is very tired and dated and needs a complete update of the rooms. The bathrooms look like they havent been updated since some time in the 80s. The bedding, however, is great, allowing for a good night's sleep. There is a looooong walk to the elevator which is around the corner, down a long hall, and near some meeting rooms - far from the lobby area. If you think you've taken a wrong turn, keep walking, it's further.

Unfortunately the staff didn't make up for the facility. When I arrived there were 5-6 persons behind the desk attending to some kind of issue. It took them several minutes to make eye contact and acknowledge my presence. Found the same thing on check-out, it seems no one will make eye contact or acknowledge you at all until they are ready to 'deal with you'. By comparison, the staff in the lounge were friendly, attentive and excellent.

My colleague stayed for four nights and had ongoing issues with the drainage in her shower. It would fill up half the bathtub and slowly drain. She was told twice it was fixed, when it wasnt. Third time a charm, and by the third day it had actually been addressed. Just a symptom of the tiredness of the facility.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTurpin, Manager at The National Hotel and Suites Ottawa, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback through the Tripadvisor website, and for your kind comments concerning service in Spark’s Lounge. We were pleased that you enjoyed a good night’s sleep during your stay, but sorry you were disappointed by the hotel decor and the service you experienced at our Front Desk. I’d like to offer our apologies and assure you that the service levels you experienced are not indicative of our usual standards of hospitality. We appreciate your feedback as it offers us the opportunity to evaluate and improve upon guest service. We hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The National Hotel and Suites Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The National Hotel and Suites Ottawa

Address: 361 Queen Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 7S9, Canada (Formerly Delta Ottawa Hotel and Suites)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The National Hotel and Suites Ottawa 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your The National Hotel and Suites Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Ottawa Hotel Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National Hotel and Suites Ottawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.