We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B in a good location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parker House

Parker House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ottawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parker House
Save
You added Parker House to your Saves list
450 Laurier Ave E, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6R3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 57 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B in a good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We have stayed here twice now and appreciated both stays very much. The hosts are warm and very hospitable. The breakfast is wholesome and delicious. The location is excellent, in a very good neighborhood and quite close to downtown, with a lovely park nearby and a culinary school with very fine dining almost directly across the street.
PS: the wi-fi works fine; ask the hosts for the name of the correct server, as there is another server in the neighborhood that can become the default if you don't choose Parker House's.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
edmonton
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Ottawa was so beautiful, everyone was friendly and helpful. The Parker House was nice and clean, unfortunately that is where it ended the couple seemed a bit odd. He was fairly outgoing and friendly she was NOT, couldn't wait to get us out, the checkout time on their website says 11:00a.m but they said we had to be out by 10:30a.m also the last day of our stay we didn't have to be at the airport till 5:00p.m we were hoping to leave our luggage in an out of the way spot so that we could see some more sights but were told that they were much too busy and we had to take it so luckily for us we contacted they B&B we stayed at when we first came and even though she was running the place own her own she let us store there and even gave us a key in case she wasn't home also they charged us more that our first stay even though it was one week apart. The wifi never worked.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We felt very fortunate to get accommodations at such an elegant B & B on short notice. Leo and Roberta were very warm, friendly, helpful, and hospitable. The room was quite cozy and beautifully furnished. Breakfast was out of this world delicious. I was disappointed that the wireless Internet did not work and I had to go to the coffee shop down the street for the duration of our stay( two days) to use my Ipad. Very inconvenient. Although,the location of the home was almost perfect for us to walk to all the sights we had planned to go to. Having said all this I would stay here again and rate this B&B superb!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Parker House is a very pretty house with spacious rooms and bathroom and a generous breakfast. Even though the hosts were friendly, we felt somewhat not really welcomed to the home. The first sentence we heard upon entering was to please take off the shoes and the last "don't leave without paying". Maybe we got this impression because we are young (24) in comparison to most guests staying at the place and perhaps they didn't trust us :-)
Nevertheless, we would recommend to stay there - we got a good night's sleep, were in the city in 20 minutes on foot and the breakfast was really delicious. Last but not least the dog Winston is really cute.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Leo and Roberta are superb hosts, they made us feel welcome from the moment we stepped into their home. They really know their city well and were very resouceful. They are very attentive, pleasant to talk to and be around - just lovely people! Breakfasts are delicious and will leave you full and happy. And that comes from a picky vegeterian and a demanding restaurant manager! Even their well behaved guest-loving dog Winston might come say hello in the morning!
Although our room was facing a main street (Laurier Ave), it was surprisingly quiet. I did not hear any trafic from the street at all. This cozy room was super clean, the bathroom spacious and our bed very comfortable - I slept like a baby there. The internet service is fast and they even let us use their phone.
The house itself is an architectural gem, right in the heart of Ottawa and within walking distance to many Ottawa's sights and attractions. Right across the street you'll have an excellent restaurant - Le Cordon Bleu. Parker House is very easy to find and Ottawa overall is easy to get around in. The parking is comfortable.
I really have nothing negative to say about the place. We were hugged as we were leaving. The experience was one of the best, and I am an experienced Bed and Breakfast traveler. I would recommend it to anybody visiting Ottawa. We surely are coming back, if we ever find ourselves in need of a room in Ottawa.
Leo and Roberta - thank you for everything!

Jasna and Elliot Lozada from Orlando, Florida.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker House

Address: 450 Laurier Ave E, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6R3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parker House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.