We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing lunch deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Play Food & Wine

Play Food & Wine
1 York Street, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada (Byward Market Area)
613-667-9207
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 2,218 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $21 - $86
Cuisines: French, Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing lunch deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was, by far, the best meal my partner and I had visiting Canada. The two plates for $20 lunch deal is a STEAL for the quality and service we got at this restaurant. The room itself is nice and clean and open, but the food is out of this world. The only negative thing I could possibly say, and it's not even that bad, is that the kitchen closes for a certain time between lunch and dinner - so you can only get wine, cheese and charcuterie. The first time we visited, we did a wine and cheese plate, which was nice, but I'm so glad we came back for a full lunch. Delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    165
    42
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mouth watering!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Wonderful ambiance, friendly staff, amazing selection of food and reknown wines by the glass. Perfect location in downtown Ottawa. We simply loved it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Playful and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I love this restaurant in the ByWard Market especially for lunch. The Menu is seasonal and therefore always changing. There are some items that are always on the menu such as the steak frites which my husband always orders. For lunch, you can order any two menu items for $20.00. Because they are smaller plates, you can easily finish both items. Their soups and salads are always creative and delicious, as are all the plates. The cheese plate and wine pairings are excellent. I often give Play gift certificates for Christmas and birthday presents and people are always pleased with Play. The service and atmosphere are very pleasant. I highly recommend this place for lunch. I have never been yet for dinner but my daughter has been late at night for the wine flight and cheese plate and recommends it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect for a date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The rotating menu is always great, and a wonderful wine list. The bar staff is helpful and friendly, so a solo dinner at the bar is also a nice night. Perfect location in the Market.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Unexpected, delightful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I liked the clean lines and uncluttered space right away. We arrived at lunchtime and the special was two plates off the menu for $20. Amazing selection and much bigger portions than you would imagine for a special. Mix and match was delicious - I was vegetarian, my husband was not. Wine by the glass reasonably priced. Attentive waitress. Unexpected, delightful surprise in Ottawa!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Play Food & Wine also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Play Food & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Play Food & Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.