We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware - unprofessional owner/operator and really bad experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   197 Hopewell Ave., Ottawa, Ontario K1S2Z4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 59 Ottawa B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beware - unprofessional owner/operator and really bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

I booked two rooms for several nights: one for me and my two teenage daughters, and one for my cousin and her husband. When we arrived the owner swiped my credit card in advance for all the charges. The room for me and my two daughters was in the basement and smelled musty; it was cramped and hardly large enough for three people plus luggage. The bathroom had an extremely low ceiling; the mirror was on the floor; the shower head was so low that my 5'7" daughter had to crouch down to be in the spray; and by the time I got to the shower it had turned to a dribble and I had to use a glass to collect water to rinse off the soap. It was late at night and we did not want to disturb the owner to complain, but the next morning we politely said that the rooms were not suitable for our needs and we were going to go somewhere else.

I asked to be credited back for the nights we were not staying; I didn't even ask for my money back for the horrible experience in the bathroom. The owner insisted on keeping my money. After arguing back and forth I left the room in tears; my cousin continued to negotiate. The deal we agreed to was that the owner would credit back the nights we did not stay , and I would not write a review on Trip Advisor or anywhere else.

I am writing now because I just discovered (reviewing old Visa bills) that the owner reneged on the agreement and charged me $702.36. We only stayed one night, two rooms. I have witnesses and the bill to prove it all.

The owners were dishonest in describing the quality of the rooms over the phone; they were dishonest in charging us full price for a dysfunctional bathroom; and completely dishonest in charging us for the unused nights after telling us they would credit them back. Buyer beware. I have never had such a distasteful experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    0
    5
    6
See reviews for
4
5
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Very comfortable. Downtown yet far enough South to avoid the cores craziness.

I really liked the layout and had the place to myself!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Very basic basement room with stark furnishing -nice people but defintely overpriced for what is offered

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrara, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Quite neighbourhood, only few minutes bus from downtown. Fantastic breakfast with fresh baked scones and very nice and friendly hosts. What could we ask for more?

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Don't stay here if you're concerned about odours, or mould. My wife and one of our friends who were vacationing with us had severe reactions to unhealthy elements in our quarters. The "Pacific Room", which is in the basement, was especially bad with damp odours and an unfinished bathroom. I asked for a refund twice and was refused twice. My advice to you is to steer clear of this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwright197, Lawyer for property at Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
This property is air conditioned and a relative humidity of 40% is maintained. The air quality is controlled by central air conditioning, electrostatic-hepa filter and humidifier in winter.

The lower level room "Pacific room" and the others have been thoroughly inspected for mold. A very strict cleaning regime is conducted daily to ensure the very best quality of environment.

There are no pets in the building. Smoking is not allowed on the property. The property is a certified scent free facility including the laundry.

A very strict cancellation policy is in force however as they are a very sought after property. Last minute cancellations are damaging to the financial viability of this fine property.

Unorganized guests who try to circumvent their responsibilities for payment do resort to this form of libelous behavior unfortunately.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

My dad made an unexpected visit from overseas. My house was undergoing renovations at the time and I couldn't ask him to sleep on the floor! I was so lucky to find Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast. And then I was even more surprised to realize that I knew the owner. Our children had gone to the same school. That made me feel even more comfortable putting my father up there.
The B &B was surprisingly spacious and inviting . I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

I stayed at Sunnyside B&B in Ottawa on December 21st and 22nd, 2009. I can recommend this place without hesitation. I'm much obliged to Jim & Inge for my pleasant stay at Sunnyside. The food was great, the coffee was superb! Sunnyside is cosy, spotlessly clean, and hospitable because Jim & Inge keep it that way. If you have anything to do with Carleton University, you absolutely could not be in a better location. You can walk from Sunnyside to Carleton in 5 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast

Address: 197 Hopewell Ave., Ottawa, Ontario K1S2Z4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Bed and Breakfast. Includes a healthy breakfast. Up to date services (Internet, Business service, etc.). Clean. Quiet. Free parking. A 2.5 star rated facility. Three rooms (Atlantic, Pacific & Great Lakes) with queen beds and en-suite bathroom. Three budget private rooms (UW, UF & US) sharing a bathroom in our Annex. Suited best for single and couples. A smoke free property. No pets. Low scent and environment management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunnyside Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.