We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pookies Thai Restaurant

Pookies Thai Restaurant
2280 Carling Avenue Unit 7, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
613-321-1733
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #185 of 2,288 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

What a great place to take friends. We had a wonderful meal. Not only was the food great, the presentation was fantastic. We will definitely go back. Very warm staff.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ottawa, ontario
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Our Fav Thai Restaurant in Ottawa!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This place is wonderful. Lots of selection and very friendly staff. They even change up the pinnapple rice for me as I don't eat meat....it tastes wonderful with tofu BTW! Lots of choices for everyone and one of my kids fav places too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Never Disappointing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We live close to Pookie's so make a habit of going every few weeks or so. The atmosphere is good, as is the service. I find the prices to be fair across the board, especially since similar Thai restaurants elsewhere in the city charge much more for the same dishes.
My usually start with the Chicken Satay Skewers with peanut sauce, which are amazing. My wife will get the Pad Thai with Chicken & tofu (and unlike some Thai places they don't charge extra for that combination) and I will usually get either the Chicken Cashew stir-fry or the Chicken with ginger and vegetables.
The service is comfortable, which means that there isn't a server hovering over your table or coming over frequently. And since the restaurant isn't very large it's easy to grab someone's attention.
It has the feel of a neighbourhood restaurant and is definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Excellent Thai food at a reasonable price. Can't be beat. Reservations recommended as it's small and very popular.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good, but we've had better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We ordered out and it was ready in time. Half of the dishes were great and half of them were only alright. The prices seemed a bit steep for the amount of food that we got. Service was very friendly and the spring rolls were very good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pookies Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Pookies Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pookies Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.