We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2881 Gibford Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 1C3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vaughan, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Love this location. Most of the things are consistent with Holiday Inn Express brand hotels else where. It is quiet, the service is great. The front desk staff (Jack and Greg) are really friendly and helpful. Breakfast is typical, but I see they have Greek yogurt and hard boiled eggs which I like very much. Eating area is spacious and well maintained by the a couple of staffs who constantly cleaning up and replenishing food items and supplies. The gym is a bit small compared to other locations. There is an indoor swimming pool. The printer in the business area which is really tight is not always working. But the front desk staff is willing to print files for you.
The hotel is on Hunt Club road, only 10 minutes away from airport. It is one block east of Bank street the main thoroughfare of the city. One block west is Riverside drive. Lots of shopping and restaurants at both intersections. The only T&T in town, a major Asian grocery chain store, is located at Riverside intersection.

OLG Slots at Rideau Carleton Raceway (1200 plus slot machines) is about 20 minutes away. Driving to downtown needs a good 40 to 45 minutes due to traffic. There is no highway to cut through city core area.

Room Tip: Room away from elevator. Check A/C first when you get into a room. If it is noisy, ask for another r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    65
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
52
31
35
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here this past week for 5 days. We were in the middle of a move out of the city, so we called this home for the week.

Rooms were good. The a/c was loud!! Sounded like a jet plane about to take off when it started!

Breakfast was good, good choices, coffee was decent but get there early or you will run out of turkey sausage!

Pool was ridiculously cold and one day the hot tub was too hot the next it was cold. The workout room was good, quite warm though but decent.

Front staff was nice, cheery and polite. No complaints.

The biggest issue that dropped the score was the cleaning staff. One day we got back around 4, the room was made up. The next day they came by took all our towels, a blanket and didn't replace them, add an extra toilet paper or pretty much cleaning nothing but empty the garbages. Even the coffee cups weren't washed or replaced.

I wouldn't recommend it for a long stay. Only for a night if you are passing by

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear CaffeinatedDancer,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our guests receive the very best service we can provide each and every day. While we are pleased with your positive comments with the breakfast and fitness center, it is disappointing to know we fell short of your expectations with the air conditioner, pool and housekeeping service. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with.

Despite your disappointment we do hope you will stay with us again when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were so delighted to stay here on our last night in Ottawa, after our Canada Day family vacation. Our room was clean and comfortable. No deficiencies whatsoever in air conditioning, fridge, or bathroom facility. The breakfast was hearty (and included in the room price) and offered a great assortment of hot & cold foods. The pool area was well-kept and clean. The staff were very helpful. We couldn't have asked for more. Thank you. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had an excellent experience at this hotel - we called direct to the hotel to obtain a reservation and got a rated that was $20 less than what central reservation offered and what booking online offered. All the staff was efficient and friendly and the room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was amazing - many options to choose from, including greek yogurt and yummy cinnamon rolls! While the pool was not overly large, it was more than suitable for our family. The shuttle service to the airport was an added bonus! This is absolutely my preffered stay (outside of downtown hotels) when staying in Ottawa pre/post flights, and we will be coming back soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed at this hotel many times for both business and pleasure trips since it opened last decade. For the first 5 years, I would've given it a "4".

Most recent stay 2 weeks ago made up my mind not to stay here until hotel replaces its A/C heating units (sounds like a parked truck) and its mattresses (too soft with little support). Still not much external noise if facing away from Hunt Club Rd. Usual HI breakfast fare is also getting tired.

Note that there's a Hampton under construction beside this property abutting Hunt Club Rd. Apparently owned by the same individuals as this hotel, who I assume are pouring their dollars into the Hampton and not the Holiday Inn. I expect the Hampton prices will be a few dollars higher as a result.

Room Tip: Face away from Hunt Club Rd. and adjoining hotel construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesOttawa, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Roadsnottaken,
Thank-you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. We take all of our guest concerns very seriously and always strive to delivery an exceptional guest experience. It is unfortunate that we fell short of our hospitality promise. We assure you that management will address your concerns and we hope that our attention to details will encourage you to stay with us again. Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Alberta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed here recently for a relative's wedding and had a great experience. Room clean and bright with everything functioning. Facilities were all bright and clean. Decent continental breakfast included each morning in the lobby. Staff were pleasant and no issues checking in or out.

Great location if overnighting at airport or a family function such as ours but not for seeing downtown Ottawa.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay June 28th, 2014. Great room, very spacious, big enough for a queen size air mattress... Unbelievable breakfast for a complimentary, it had everything including eggs and sausages.Room was very clean and beds comfy. Also we got to enjoy the pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport

Address: 2881 Gibford Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1V 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#16 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ottawa Airport Hotel Offers a Free Airport Shuttle From 5 AM-11 PM Located right outside Ottawa near Ottawa Macdonald-Cartier International Airport, the Holiday Inn Express Ottawa Airport is a great place to begin your Canadian vacation. With close proximity to Ottawa s biggest leisure and business attractions, you will find a comfortable stay at an affordable price. For the business traveler, our Ottawa hotel is just a few kilometers away from Centurion Conference and Event Center. You can also get to the heart of downtown Ottawa quickly and easily, as it is just twelve kilometers from our airport hotel. Ottawa s information technology industry is right at your fingertips with businesses such as Black Coral and Apple Canada within ten kilometers of our hotel near Ottawa International. Ottawa s many tourist attractions are all located within a short distance of our hotel near Ottawa airport. Parliament Hill is just 12 kilometers away, in the heart of downtown Ottawa. A little further away from our Ottawa airport hotel is Mont Cascades. This mountain offers skiing in the winter and hiking trails in the summer. During your stay at our hotel near Ottawa International, you can take advantage of the indoor heated pool & whirlpool spa and the free Internet access. Come Stay Smart with us at the new Ottawa airport hotel and see what Ottawa has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ottawa Airport
Holiday Inn Express Ottawa
Holiday Inn Ottawa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.