We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfying Sunday breakfast fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunn's Famous Deli

Dunn's Famous Deli
220 Elgin Street, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
(613) 230-6444
Improve this listing
Ranked #512 of 2,215 Restaurants in Ottawa
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Satisfying Sunday breakfast fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had never been here for breakfast before opting to come at lunch for smoked meat and rye a restaurant speciality. This time we sat at a streetside table when the windows were fully retracted. Our order was taken promptly and our cups filled with hot coffee. We had our meals in five minutes and were quite pleased with the portion size for the price. Everything was hot and as ordered. Our biggest disappointment was the persons sitting beside us. They would step outside the opening and light up cigarettes to smoke on the sidewalk next to their table. We found that most unpleasant. Restaurant should add wrought iron fencing that woul discourage this practice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    56
    47
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Traditional diner - very popular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a popular diner, and the food is nicely presented. Can recommend the chopped liver sandwich. We only had lunch here, and it was nice to see the traditional diner at work. I only gave average reviews as the restrooms were in need of a makeover and the whole place did seem a little tired. There are better diners in Ottawa, although here you do get the history.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great hash browns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Went for barely near my hotel, was pleasantly surprised by the large portions, good value, and quality of my meal. 2.99$ kids meal can't be beat. Lots of tomatoes subbed in for meat, eggs cooked perfectly, uniquely spiced has browns and to die for caraway rye toast. Quick and attentive service. A good bet for breakfast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food was good, but the service was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We came here as a family of four for a really late lunch / early supper. It was pretty quiet, with only a few other customers, and we were treated really well and very attentively. Our server was excellent with our two boys, even managing to find a couple of superballs for them to take home. Any request we had was promptly seen to, and our server was just so nice. The food was very good, and arrived quite quickly. Portions were generous, and we were able to take our time to enjoy it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fastest lunch I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Went here for lunch and couldn't believe how quickly the food came! Had the sandwich and salad special and it was great. Good value - entire meal under $10.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunn's Famous Deli also viewed

 
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Dunn's Famous Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunn's Famous Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.