We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a snack” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beavertails

Beavertails
J A Durrell Rec Centre, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 7G1, Canada (Byward Market Area)
(613) 241-1230‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 2,218 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just a snack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I shared the garlic and cheese flavour, paired with root beer- perfect. It's our first beaver tail. Probably will have one Tom again for the last time fore going home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    126
    26
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved La Québécois”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time ever having a beaver tail and it will not be my last. The "beaver tail" is like a flattened funnel cake donut hybrid. I thoroughly enjoyed La Québécois which was covered in a light maple sauce/frosting and drizzled with chocolate sauce. It is served warm and it just melts in your mouth! I cannot wait until the next one!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Who can resist beaver tails?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We could not - and it's a brilliant location. It is actually a tourist trap in the middle of By Ward market, but that's one of the cases when I don't mind to be trapped.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent tails, but very dirty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

So we went to have the beaver tails because it is part of the Ottawa experience, but it was very dirty. The tails were excellent and a bit pricy but if you are a first timer you need to try at least one.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa,Ontario,Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Ottawa Must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

There is different kinds of Beavertails. I had the original tail, but I think they have at least 10 different kinds. They are very very sweet and tasty. They have one that has chocolate and banana's on the tail. It looked very good and very sweet. I must say that they are very good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beavertails also viewed

 

Been to Beavertails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beavertails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.