We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best little tea or lunch place ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Scone Witch

The Scone Witch
150 Elgin Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1R 5B2, Canada (Byward Market Area)
613-232-2173
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 2,142 restaurants in Ottawa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: Byward Market Area
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best little tea or lunch place ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Absolutely delicious scones. Wonderful little sandwiches with very interesting, tasty ingredients. A great little place for lunch, or (as I have done NUMEROUS times) to simply buy some scones to take home with you. Seating in the restaurant is minimal though, and it gets busy during lunch, so if you are going to go during lunch hour suggest you get take-out or go early. Well worth it though!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    100
    85
    21
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best scones in Canada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The scones and jams they sell are absolutely delicious and I drop by the Scone Witch every single time I visit Ottawa.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

If I'm not in a hurry to go to work in the morning than I stop by at Scone Witch for breakfast. It's great for breakfast or getting together with friends to catch. Very convenient place. And of course great tasting scones.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One of the best scones I've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I love all the scones here, be it sweet or savoury. The sandwiches used scones instead of bread and they are absolutely delicious!!! A great place to have breakfast, lunch or weekend brunch!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Pick your fancy sandwich mix... choose your scone flavour..and weight for a little slice of heaven with a side salad to arrive. These scones are perfect... not too dry, not to moist... light and delicious... truly the best. I always leave with a box of scones to share (or eat them all myself)... b/c the scones are that good.
Cute little house tucked away on the fringe of the downtown... easy to get too by bus or a little walk... and worth any lunch wait you have. It's a tight squeeze to fit your party all in... but you make it work.
Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scone Witch also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to The Scone Witch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scone Witch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.