We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moxie's Classic Bar & Grill

Moxie's Classic Bar & Grill
1976 Ogilvie Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K1J 9M8, Canada
(613) 745-5556
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #446 of 2,149 Restaurants in Ottawa
Price range: $15 - $20
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Amazing restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went here for our 5th anniversary and we were amazed at the wonderful service,food and just the cleanliness of the restaurant.
Our waittress even gave us two free glasses of champagne. The food was amazing,one of the best restaurant in Ottawa for sure. I will be returning for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    31
    20
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Overrated !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Nice patio but I find the food and drinks a bit overpriced. The service is ok, but not out of the ordinary. I find also that the waitress are dress a little TOO sexy....very short dress or skirts...is that necessary ??? to attract clients ??? not working for me.
The plates have nice presentation...but in small portion.
The furniture is nice and modern.
The food we had did not stand out from any other places.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Another great time at Moxie's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Have been to this location a dozen times and it is great. Had the Ginger rice bowl and it was very good. The taste and spice level made for a great overall dish! Will be back soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Overrated, but great atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have been to Moxie's a few times before and I find the service is just alright.
Although overall, I feel like the waiter/waitresses are superficial and don't look twice at you unless they know you are the one paying the bill (usually the male customers!)
The atmosphere is great, and food is usually pretty good.
I'd say their steak is what is delicous.
However, I ordered the fancy potato side and thought it was real cheese that was put on but it wasnt it was cream cheese which was alright but not what I expected, just tasted strange. I got a grilled chicken once and it looked and tasted like a single piece of microwaved frozen chicken tender.
Didn't get exactly what I ordered a few times either, the head server had to come check on why and brought me what I had asked for.
Find the prices high for what you get also. I recommend the Keg over Moxie's.
I mostly go to Moxie's now for drinks with friends and appetizers not a full dinner. Food and drinks are overpriced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Monday Happy Hour visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We decided to take advantage of the Monday evening special which is one pound of wings for $3.99 and a special on Bud Light Platinum beer at $4.00

We had a warm and friendly greeting at the door and acknowledgement by other staff as we were led to a table upstairs on the deck as we had requested. We found the layout and furnishings of the restaurant quite upscale and better than those of its competitors. Our attractive waitress soon arrived and shortly after we were enjoying cold beers and a Mojito also on special. When we order our wings, in several variations, everyone was happy and we all enjoyed our selections.

We found all of the staff to be friendly, attractive and youthful. This was a good Happy Hour experience and we will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moxie's Classic Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Moxie's Classic Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moxie's Classic Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.