We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've never eaten there because they don't take reservations for less than groups of 8” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Avanti Trattoria

Avanti Trattoria
17 King Street East, Oshawa, Ontario, Canada (Downtown Oshawa)
905-404-8040
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 303 Restaurants in Oshawa
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Oshawa
Newcastle, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“I've never eaten there because they don't take reservations for less than groups of 8”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

When they first opened several years ago we had friends from out of town and we physically went there in the early afternoon and asked if we could make a dinner reservation for later that day and were told they didn't do reservations for groups less than 6. We explained we lived 25 km away and didn't want to end up in downtown Oshawa hungry because there were only 4 of us, and so we left. Tonight I called and asked if they took reservations and was advised not for groups less than 8. They must be doing a good business with the new hockey rink around the corner, but downtown Oshawa is bleak at best and so the restaurant that another reviewer said go there if you like salt will have to wait!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    42
    11
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Basic..not fresh ingredients”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The pizzas dont taste fresh. The pizzas are VERY basic for the price point. No traditional Italian appetizers like antipasto :( disappointing... The salads could be better. Some healthier options would be a nice addition.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, ON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been here several times and the food was never disappointing. The atmosphere is good and the staff is pleasant. I would recommend this restaurant for an occasional nice Italian dinner even if it can be a little but not exceedingly pricey, which is the reason why I would recommend staying away from the liquor while there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ontario
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Location is good, service is good and the food is good but not great. Prices were reasonable. One person in our group had a chicken dish and the chicken was hot but the pasta was cold.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice to have the Trattoria experience in Oshawa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Good food at a resonable price. Pleasant staff. Our party of 6 tried different menu offerings such as the veal parm, chicken parm, 3 different pastas. All were terrific.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avanti Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Avanti Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avanti Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.