We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkwood National Historic Site

Parkwood National Historic Site
270 Simcoe Street N., Oshawa, Ontario L1G 4T5, Canada (Downtown Oshawa)
905.433.4311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Oshawa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An Autobaron's home of innovation & inspiration, and one of Canada's last grand estates. Immerse yourself in the era and lavish lifestyle of R. S. McLaughlin - beautifully preserved and so evocative of Jazz Age & Big Band styles in automobiles, fashions, sporting life and garden party. Get up close and personal, with extensive access to historic spaces and fascinating stories of achievement and a life well-lived. Learn about the work of top designers and the large domestic staff that made this grand estate possible.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A delightful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were taken round the mansion by a personal guide who was very knowledgeable. Very interesting place and glad we went. The house is very large and you have to climb stairs at times. There is a lift installed in the house but it is not working, so bear this in mind if you have difficulty walking. However if you want to explore the grounds there are golf type buggies available. Well worth the visit, but the tour is a bit long.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    34
    3
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
OSHAWA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have been here many times and had my wedding photos here. I will never tire of this place. The grounds are beautiful, and the tour of inside the estate is definitely worth it! I would recommend any visitor to the area take in this attraction.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful - very informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have lived in this city for over 16 years and this was the first time I visited the Parkwood estate. It was a wonderful surprise. The tour was guided and full of information. The gardens are beautiful and a pleasure to walk through. It was nice to see the place in person that so many movies had been filmed at as well as hearing about the history of the place and owners. It was also nice to see how the rich lived; imagine, a whole seperate room just for breakfast! The room was bigger than any room in my whole house!
My children also enjoyed the experience. Figure on at least 3 hours - more if you really want to check out the gardens.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Ontario
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We visited Parkwood last week 08/27/2013 with our 10 year old grandson. He was kept very interested by our tour guide who knew what little boys like to hear - secret passages, games, etc. We loved the home which is in very good condition and the tour was very extensive. We saw almost every room as they are all open and furnished beautifully. Colonel McLaughlin was not only wealthy but used his money wisely. Learning about him as more than a businessman was very interesting. There is ample parking, a very nice gift shop and a small place to get a bite to eat. The gardens are spectacular. My brother who is 91 had no difficulty with getting around on the tour. My grandson was most impressed with the indoor swimming pool and the bowling alley. This was a very worthwhile and fun thing to do. Our tour guide was excellent. He spoke clearly and had good information for us. He was able to answer all questions with no difficulty.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very interesting tour. Guide was very knowledgeable and humerus. Beautiful gardens and fountains outside, but the tour is extremely worth the low cost. Take advantage while in Oshawa.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkwood National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Parkwood National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkwood National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.