We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for fish and chips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halibut House Fish & Chips Family Restaurant

Halibut House Fish & Chips Family Restaurant
1070 Simcoe St N, Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 313 Restaurants in Oshawa
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Oshawa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great place for fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place won't disappoint if you like fish and chips. We go to this location two or three times a month and have always had good food. Portions are large and there is a special nearly every day. Salads are fresh and crispy. Service is excellent - attentive and very friendly. Location is great - corner of Simcoe and Beatrice - very accessible with lots of parking. They also have take-out for those in a hurry. A winner for sure!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“poor customer satisfaction”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Our order consisted of 2 Fish 1Chip, and battered mushrooms and 1 scallops only. It was a Forty dollar plus order, my husband called in the order, and I picked it up. The server was getting the order ready for me and was letting me know what she was packing. She said shrimp and i said its funny he ordered shrimp instead of scallops. She said No he ordered shrimp, so I left it at that. Now, we live in the east end, so I get home and open the bag after saying that and we do have shrimp, so we call and let them know, and found out they did make the mistake, they say sorry, and thats it. No what can we do to make it up to you, or take our name and let them know on our next visit, or anything. So I feel that was poor customer satisfation. I do not know if I will go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Consistently great food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Been here several times now and the food is always good. I always have the Halibut because they guarantee the fish is fresh and not frozen. (Frozen fish can have preservatives in it). The restaurant is always clean and the staff friendly. Little disappointed with the pricing... There is a lunch special for around $6 consisting of a good sized portion of fish and a large portion of chips... great value. Now exchange the chips for a very basic garden salad and the price jumps to almost double!! Anyway, give this restaurant a visit and stick to the fish and chips and I know you will be well pleased. :)

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great new place to meet friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This relatively new location is bright and airy and clean. It is a pleasure to meet friends there for breakfast. The food is ample and priced just right for seniors on a budget. The wait staff are attentive but we never feel that we are being rushed out to make room for more clients. the food is great too! Parking is ample and the location has easy access. Nice, clean washrooms too!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Great Fish & Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had lunch at this newer location this week and could not be happier. Great halibut lunch special, clean restaurant, good prices and service . Breakfast taken to other customers looked very good as well. Give it a try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halibut House Fish & Chips Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Halibut House Fish & Chips Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halibut House Fish & Chips Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.