We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great spot in Oshawa"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Thirsty Monk Grill Pub

The Thirsty Monk Grill Pub
21 Celina St E., Oshawa, Ontario L1H 1J7, Canada (Downtown Oshawa)
905-728-3219
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 296 Restaurants in Oshawa
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Oshawa
TORONTO
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“"Great spot in Oshawa"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been frequenting The Thirsty Monk for many years and i find the food very good, the atmosphere comfortable and the staff very friendly. The menu is much more diverse than you would expect for a pub with several outstanding items. They just did a minor freshening up and added a bunch of big Sony TV's so watching that big event will be even better at the Monk.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First timer here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Ok so after reading some reviews on this website I thought I would try this place out, I felt like a critic lol. I went around dinner rush after work thinking this would be the time they need to be on there toes. I sat at the bar it was clean and pretty cool decor. I was asked within two minutes if I would like a drink and menu. All I can say is the food was good and I really enjoyed the ceaser salad. I could tell the dressing was homemade. My drink was never empty without a offer to have a new one, also the bartender asked if I was driving after one drink???? A responsible pub? Wow blew me away very cool. I enjoyed my evening and will definatly return again. Ps after asking to speak to the manager to make a compliment the man behind the bar informed me he was the owner. Very nice to see the boss working the front line!! Top notch place.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Was so hoping for an English, Irish pub feeling. The food has been okay, but often getting it is the problem....greatly understaffed. If the owner helped the bartender / servers you would feel your business is appreciated

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“THE best pub in Oshawa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Thirsty monk has proven time and time again that it is the best pub around. The food is great, the atmosphere is great, the music is awesome and the service is outstanding!! I've been coming here for years and I will continue to do so. :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtice
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Amazing place to hang out with friends. Clean! Great food! Good/friendly staff! Would give high recommendations for this Pub!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thirsty Monk Grill Pub also viewed

Oshawa, Ontario
Oshawa, Ontario
 

Been to The Thirsty Monk Grill Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thirsty Monk Grill Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.