We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nicer than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Fornello

Il Fornello
203 North Service Rd., Oakville, Ontario L6M 3R2, Canada
(905) 338-5233
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 385 Restaurants in Oakville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dorval and North Service Rd. W
Transit: Near-by
Burlington
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nicer than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Atmosphere was interesting and quietly controlled, except for one woman who was celebrating her birthday and made me wish for a Mute button. The food and service exceeded our expectations and we have returned since to find the noisemaker was gone, so we had a chance to enjoy a quiet chat over dinner.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    29
    11
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Good Gluten free menu selction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

good selection of pasta, meats and breads, excellent service - server returned to our table several times asking if things were fine and there was anything else. Refills were quick. Good size portions on all of the items ordered. Prepared exactly as ordered and served hot.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakville,Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Molto Bene Italian Cuisine in Oakville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just came back from a wonderful New Year's Eve meal at Il Fornello in Oakville.

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by the hostess & she escorted us to our table.

The restaurant has a nice decor with brick interior & an open kitchen where you can see the cooks making the meals.

We ordered a nice bottle of Pinot Grigio & a bottle of Pelligrino.

As appetizers we ordered the Mussels & Roma Salata. Both appetizers were excellent.

For the main course we ordered the Vitello Marsala & Chicken Asiago. The veal is very tasty with a nice sauce & rapini.The Chicken has nice flavor with carrots.

We were full after the main course , so we ordered coffee for desert.

Service by Alan & another Italian speaking waiter whose name we didn't know was excellent.

This is a great place for a date night or with the family.

They have several pizzas on the menu that kids will like.

Our only minor complaint is that the price of wine is somewhat high at $49 a bottle. There are cheaper selections but I didn't see any wine under $30 a bottle.

The wine we selected was very good but it was expensive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went to Il Fornello's for my birthday and had a wonderful meal. Our server was great and recommended a bottel of wine that we all enjoyed very much, so we had to have a second! The Pollo con Asiago Chicken was delicious, can't wait to go for the next family birthday.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good spot to dine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Although the restaurant was very busy, the service was excellent. Wait staff were attentive and pleasant. Food was very good. Overall a very good experience

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornello also viewed

 

Been to Il Fornello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Fornello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.