We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walnut House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walnut House B&B
Save
You added Walnut House B&B to your Saves list
134 Forsythe Street, Oakville, Ontario L6K 3K2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Oakville B&B and Inns
London, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had an excellent stay in the Garden Suite and loved our time at the walnut house. It was so refreshing and the room was decorated in such a lovely way. The breakfast was also delicious, we had a choice between hot and cold. We felt very welcomed and would definitely go again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
11
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just one night, and it was terrific. Our room, with en suite, was clean, well decorated and bountifully supplied with everything we could possibly need. The house is quite a picture with the tree growing straight up through the second floor balcony. Breakfast was good and we had our choice of a hot or cold meal and the time was up to us. Gill is very accommodating! Highly recommend this for it's great location - within an easy walk of the old town centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay in September 2013 at the Walnut House B&B. Our main floor room was beautifully appointed, with en suite bath and galley kitchen. Gill asked our preference for breakfast each night before and we opted for a full breakfast as opposed to a continental.

This was a homecoming for me so it was a pleasure to be just steps from the mainstreet with all its shops and restaurants, and the 'Old Town' and lakefront. Oakville 'downtown' has changed somewhat but not the ambiance. Gill recommended three restaurant choices which were all excellent.

Travellers who enjoy the B&B experience should not hesitate to stay at this well run facility.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A most charming, cosy and comfortable B and B in a fantastic location.

Walnut House, was truly a home away from home. The rooms were gorgeous, clean and we slept soundly!! Our host, Gill, was friendly and attentive at all times, and breakfast was whatever we wanted, when we wanted. Loved the Ontario peaches!! Perfect location too, a short walk to the main street and all the fantastic shops and restaurants there, and a short drive to the main City of Toronto, We will most certainly be back. Thank you Gill for everything. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilanne2, Owner at Walnut House B&B, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review you gave for Walnut House. It was a pleasure serving you and your husband. Do hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe-Claire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Information was not up to date when I googled Walnut House. When we stay in a B & B of this caliber, we expect a better breakfast than toast, a few mini muffins and cereal. The fresh fruit was nice. In addition to the above, they advertised they serve bacon, eggs of your choice, mushrooms, grilled tomatoes and omelettes and that was not the case. Our room was very nice as was Gillian, the owner. I would have expected a reduction in the cost given that we were not served what was described.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at Walnut House B&B in Oakville for a week in early August 2013.
It was the perfect location, very close to downtown Oakville and within easy walking distance of the shops, restaurants, train station and lake shore. The accomodation itself was very clean, airy and well put together. In particular, the beds were comfortable, bathrooms lovely and it had a lovely garden area for guest use. We could not have asked for a nicer, more comfortable place to stay and we would highly recommend staying here if you are visiting Oakville, Toronto or this part of Ontario. It's not far from the highway and so easy to access the surrounding vicinity by car as well. Gill was a lovely host who provided a welcoming, friendly atmosphere throughout our stay and could not have been more helpful.
We would certainly stay here again without doubt!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilanne2, Owner at Walnut House B&B, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Sorry for the delay in responding to your review of Walnut House. I am very sorry that your expectations were not met and do understand your disappontment. I had not realized that the menu was still listed on BBcanada. If you would like to email me I would like to offer you a "make up" visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Walnut House is in an ideal location for visiting downtown Oakville, being within easy walking distance of the shops, restaurants and lakeside. Also easy access for visiting Toronto using the 'GO' train. It is a very attractive house, and the accommodation is very comfortable, with Gill and Barrie proving perfect, welcoming hosts. Would certainly recommend to anyone visiting Oakville.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilanne2, Owner at Walnut House B&B, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for submitting your review of Walnut HOuse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walnut House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut House B&B

Address: 134 Forsythe Street, Oakville, Ontario L6K 3K2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Oakville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oakville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walnut House B&B is located adjacent to the harbour and Downtown Oakville. It is close to upscale shopping and 22 restaurants within half a mile. Ideal setting for beach and park walks. Easy travel to Toronto, Niagara Falls, Stratford and Shaw Festival.We are open all year round except when the owners are taking a vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Walnut House B&B Oakville, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walnut House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.