We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in the Bay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dave Green Papaya

Dave Green Papaya
652 Fraser St, North Bay, Ontario P1A 2A1, Canada
705-476-8883
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 149 Restaurants in North Bay
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the best in the Bay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Definitely one of my favourite restaurants in North Bay.

The restaurant itself is nice, but I usually get it delivered. It often takes 45 minutes or longer, but it is absolutely worth it!

A lot of variety on the menu. Try the pad thai - it is fantastic. The sweet n sour chicken is also really good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PJGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Eclectic Asian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This restaurant has an interesting menu. It is predominantly Thai with some Chinese, Indian and Korean dishes. The staff and owner are friendly and helpful. They provided extra lime and hot chills so we could adjust the pad thai to our taste. In addition to the pad Thai, the mango and cucumber salad with Korean grilled beef along with General Tao's chicken were a taste treat. If we ever come this way again we'll try the thai green curry.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank curiousVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thai food as good as I've had in larger cities in Canada.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

A good selection on the menu and Steamwhistle beer on tap. A pleasant surprise. Keep up the good work! Thank you Trip Advisor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Obabika777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

After all the talk and the excellent rating on here we had to give Dave's a try and I was very disapointed. The food was just ok. The chicken fried rice was stuck in clumps with barely any soy sauce it was still mostly white. I will definitely go back to our usual Chinese place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveDisneyAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
2 reviews
“Usually Excellent - Combo Dinners tasted "heated over"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have usually had excellent food at this place. However, we decided to try the Combination Dinners, labelled A, B, C, D,E ----They were awful, the ribs tasted dry and not juicy. The rest of it was tasteless and mushy. Even the separate dish Pad Thai was not the best. Maybe an off night....I will go back again b/c my previous experience was that it was fresh and very tastey!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank outdoorsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dave Green Papaya also viewed

North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Dave Green Papaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing