We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather like a British Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cecil's Eatery & Beer Society

Cecil's Eatery & Beer Society
300 Wyld Street, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9S8, Canada
17054727510
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 149 Restaurants in North Bay
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Carshalton, Surrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rather like a British Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The interior décor is rather basic and the place can be rather noisy. the menu has specials on most nights with Prime Rib on Fridays and Ribs on Saturday. The food is good and reasonably priced and the service is good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bibby00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Cecils is a great local bar and restaurant located downtown. The food is very good and they have a great selection of draft. They are the only bar in North Bay that I know of that serves Sapporo on tap. I have had dinner there and the service was very good. The burger I had was good; the wings here are also very good. On weekends after 9 it gets very busy and they often have live music playing which is nice. They do have brunch on Sundays but I have yet to try it, it is apparently the best brunch in town. If you're in town and are looking to have a cold beer and enjoy some good food this is the place to go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NothernOntario32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I had a nice dinner at Cecil's. The beer was good and they have a nice selection. I was pleasantly surprised at the chicken Pad Thai. It wasn't too spicy but I thought it had lots of taste. My wife had the chicken panini and was warned it was a bit bland; the waitress was right. The homemade fries were good.

They are still doing renovations for a new lounge, but right now it's just empty. Should be nice for the summer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cecil's Eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I like everything about this place. The food was excellent and so was the Sunday brunches. Decent pricing. Good service and clean establishment. A real family atmosphere for all who go there.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“There Should be an AGE LIMIT”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our meal was RUINED by parents with two small children ages approximately six and two. The six year old was basically put in charge of her younger sister who was running around all over the place like a wild animal and screamed and cried whenever anyone tried to drag her away. She kept running up to our table. Nothing was done about it. We couldn't even enjoy our Margarita!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank bonsaiwerewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cecil's Eatery & Beer Society also viewed

North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Cecil's Eatery & Beer Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing