We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cecil's Eatery & Beer Society

Cecil's Eatery & Beer Society
300 Wyld Street, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9S8, Canada
705-472-7510
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #29 of 143 restaurants in North Bay
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Barbecue, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Cecils is a great local bar and restaurant located downtown. The food is very good and they have a great selection of draft. They are the only bar in North Bay that I know of that serves Sapporo on tap. I have had dinner there and the service was very good. The burger I had was good; the wings here are also very good. On weekends after 9 it gets very busy and they often have live music playing which is nice. They do have brunch on Sundays but I have yet to try it, it is apparently the best brunch in town. If you're in town and are looking to have a cold beer and enjoy some good food this is the place to go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    10
    6
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I had a nice dinner at Cecil's. The beer was good and they have a nice selection. I was pleasantly surprised at the chicken Pad Thai. It wasn't too spicy but I thought it had lots of taste. My wife had the chicken panini and was warned it was a bit bland; the waitress was right. The homemade fries were good.

They are still doing renovations for a new lounge, but right now it's just empty. Should be nice for the summer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Ontario
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cecil's Eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I like everything about this place. The food was excellent and so was the Sunday brunches. Decent pricing. Good service and clean establishment. A real family atmosphere for all who go there.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“There Should be an AGE LIMIT”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our meal was RUINED by parents with two small children ages approximately six and two. The six year old was basically put in charge of her younger sister who was running around all over the place like a wild animal and screamed and cried whenever anyone tried to drag her away. She kept running up to our table. Nothing was done about it. We couldn't even enjoy our Margarita!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Mother's Day disaster”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I keep giving them a chance, but the Sunday buffet is mediocre at best. The best part of Cecil's is the waitress Cassidy.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cecil's Eatery & Beer Society also viewed

North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Cecil's Eatery & Beer Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cecil's Eatery & Beer Society, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.