We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kabuki House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kabuki House

Kabuki House
349 Main St W, North Bay, Ontario P1B 2T9, Canada
(705) 495-0999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 150 Restaurants in North Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
North Bay, Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kabuki House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Good location. Excellent food! Fantastic ambiance for a romantic dinner. I enjoyed my time there. Wish I could go there more often but sometimes the money is too tight, or I'd be there every weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    21
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Japanese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a great small ethntic Japanese restaurant. You willlove the cozy atmosphere and the great tasting food. Looking forward to a return visit.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Always Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a small, quaint restaurant for Japanese food. Reservations are recommended. The chef cooks right in the restaurant so you can see your food being prepared. This is one of the finer restaurants in North Bay so expect that to be reflected in the bill but it is worth it to treat yourself from time to time. The food is excellent. The sushi and tempura are especially good.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Well, two vegans in North Bay might have been a problem if we had not tried out the
Kabuki House Japanese Restaurant. Having seen in the Yellow Pages that they offered
a vegetarian plate, we drove downtown and found a fine old home reconstituted as a
restaurant. Hostess seated us at small table with a window and our pleasure began.
Veg egg rolls were not those deep fried things, but gracious carrot and cucumber sticks
rolled in a rice paper wrap with a light sesame sauce. Our veggie plates were stunningly
presented with a little dish of deep fried tofu, light veggie tempura, salads and other veggie
delights. Price was moderate for a very fine meal. I might have flavored the sauces more
authentically.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Though it can get a little pricey, the food is delicious and you can watch the chef prepare your food as you wait in the dinning room. The chef is very nice, takes the time to say hello to those who come in. Great place!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kabuki House also viewed

North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Kabuki House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kabuki House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.