We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Average Joe's

Average Joe's
Trout Lake Road, North Bay, Ontario, Canada
705-474-1982
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 146 Restaurants in North Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary, Family Fare, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Minesing, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A great location for a restaurant, situated on Trout Lake. We got a table by the window which was nice, but too bad it wasn't summer. I ordered pickerel on my wife's recommendation. The portion was large and tasty but I found that it was over-breaded and deep fried. The wine selection is small but not too expensive. Overall I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    47
    21
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great service, solid food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We went for dinner after cross country skiing and while the food was okay, both the (wintry) view out the large windows and the service were great. The restaurant has a range of options available at all price points, with the majority of main items being around $20. Food arrived quickly, and service was efficient.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Make a reservation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The food is fantastic. We sat outside on the deck and watched the activity on the water. Service was prompt, food was hot and I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Keep going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Average Joe's in no way average! It's our "go-to" restaurant when visiting North Bay. Favourites include coconut shrimp appetizer and prime rib dinner. Go hungry. Portions are very large. Prime rib runs about $25. Wine bottle prices 20-30$. Had pickerel once, tasty but too much breading for my preference. Make reservations for sure. James and team never disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Wow-we are in North Bay for 2 nights, and I think we'll be back or our 2nd night! Vegetable risoto was awesome! View + atmosphere wonderful, service amazing!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Average Joe's also viewed

North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Average Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Average Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.