We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Owl

White Owl
Lakeshore Drive, North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #22 of 143 restaurants in North Bay
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Went for dinner with my Red Hat friends- the staff were very accomodating of our group- service was perfect and everyone enjoyed their meals. Nice variety on the menu and it was all delicious.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    19
    12
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The exterior of the building is nothing spectacular to look at, but once inside you see that this is fine dining. We were informed that the food is all made from scratch when ordered, so get comfy and prepare for a wait. Get a scotch or wine and relax. This restaurant is all about the atmosphere and the quality of the food, which was very tasty!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

A year end celebration was held by my organization. Twenty people were present and the dishes were as gorgeous as they were delicious. the services was also excellent yet relaxed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Good food but felt it was overpriced for North Bay. Only six people in the small restaurant so not sure how they keep in business.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Misleading...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Not sure what is so good about this place. We went there and the whole place was deserted: no people, no servers, no nothing. After about 10 mins of waiting around, a server finally came out from the bar. I had a supreme of chicken and wife ordered a rainbow trout. Ordered drinks and again, no service for a good 25 minutes. Afterwards, server comes with a tiny piece of bread. Well that would've been great to have about 20 mins ago!! 5 mins later they serve the food. Needless to say, we weren't impressed with it. The trout was falling all over the place and soggy. And my chicken tasted like dried raisins! To sum up, bad food, bad service....don't understand the fuss with this "bistro".

Oh, I could've gone to a grocery store, paid the same $50 and get a year's supply of raisins!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Owl also viewed

North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to White Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Owl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.