We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and locally sourced food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Owl

White Owl
Lakeshore Drive, North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #22 of 143 restaurants in North Bay
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
ottawa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good food and locally sourced food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My dad and I ate here on the recommendation of our motel host. A very pleasant surprise. The lamb was excellent and so was my dad,s pickerel. New Zealand Cab. Savignon, 1/2 litre, 2 desserts and coffee added up to $112. Great value for locally sourced food that was tasty and had a very good presentation. A small restaurant that is best suited for couples and small groups of adults.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    19
    12
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“White Owl has excellent food and atmosphere but service was slow.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We ate here on a hot July evening. The courtyard was very nice and our table along the edge nearest the lake was shaded and pleasant.
The service however was very slow. It took along time for our waitress to come to the table and drinks were slow to arrive as well. It then took about 90 minutes from time we ordered to the time we received our meals. Fortunately we had met an interesting person that we shared our table with so the wait was not too bad as it was a nice evening an we had a great conversation.
The quality of our food however was excellent. Our friend had a shrimp dish and said it was excellent. The pork dish my wife and I had was very good as well. The food was well prepared, fresh, tasty and well presented. Compliments to the chef.
We would highly recommend this restaurant but make sure you have plenty of time for a nice relaxing meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had supper at this Bistro on Saturday 22nd of Sept. and everything is cooked on the premises. Excellent food and service .Will go back for sure

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Although the outside of the restaurant was not impressive, once you stepped inside all that changed. The ambiance was nice and casual, but the food was amazing!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkerton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“White Owl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Great food along the lake. The neighbours were a bit too noisy. Not sure if the owner can tell them to turn down their tv.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Owl also viewed

North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to White Owl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Owl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.