We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Churchill's Prime Rib House

Churchill's Prime Rib House
631 Lakeshore Dr, North Bay, Ontario P1A 2E7, Canada
(705) 476-7777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 142 Restaurants in North Bay
Price range: $0 - $102
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Oakville, Ontario
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
402 helpful votes 402 helpful votes
“Romantic Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were able to get a table at this restaurant at very short notice, while on an overnight visit to North Bay. I was impressed with the warm welcome I received on the phone when I made the reservation and later when I arrived and asked for and received a lovely table by the window.

My husband enjoyed a mushroom soup for his appetizer and I had the Chet's salad which was scant and lacking in flavour. He had the prime rib, cooked to perfection and accompanied with mashed potatoes and really flavourful vegetables. I had the pan fried gnocchi and it was delicious. The crime brûlée was rich and creamy with the perfect crust on top. Overall it was a delicious meal.

I found the owner to be very warm and cordial. He greeted everyone and was chatty with those he knew as regular customers. Service was attentive, but not obtrusive. The restaurant is lovely, with a pianist playing a nice selection of music at just the perfect volume to set the mood but not impeded conversation. The place has a really cozy and romantic vibe to it and I know that if I lived in North Bay, I too would become a regular at this spot. We will be sure to return the next time we are in town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    19
    15
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Grandson's Wedding Reception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Was upstairs, food was very good, especially the Caesar Salad with home made dressing.Very well organized for groups.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pickerel in a Prime Rib Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I went there on business and it was my first time to Churchill's. The decor is like an old steak house. When I travel I try to eat more fish which may have been trouble at a "Rib House". The Pickerel was excellent! One of the best pickerel dishes I have ever had. Service was okay (a little slow that night).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temiskaming Shores, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Have been slightly disappointed in Churchill's in the past, but our recent experience here was wonderful. Lovely ambience with good but not superb service. Food was excellent other than the slightly stale cake which was locally made and I imagined that, when fresh, was delicious. We'll be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Ontario
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Churchill's Prime Rib House”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The food is good but you don't receive a filling plate. Their food is too overpriced. Too small a restaurant as well. Everyone seems to like it there except my husband and myself. Haven't been back there since. Why? The prices, not the food.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churchill's Prime Rib House also viewed

North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Churchill's Prime Rib House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Churchill's Prime Rib House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.