We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delicious surprise in North Bay Ontario” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago Cafe

Chicago Cafe
167 Main St W, North Bay, Ontario P1B 2T6, Canada
+1 705-472-9510
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 143 Restaurants in North Bay
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Thai, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Description: North Bay Chinese fusion restaurant Chicago Cafe brings you spirited Chinese cuisine with a traditional flair.
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A delicious surprise in North Bay Ontario”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went to a concert in North Bay and looked up a good place to go for supper. Decided to try the Asian cuisine at the Chicago Cafe, based on good reviews. We weren't disappointed. The ambiance was nice, romantic, not too loud. The friendly and helpful service were wonderful. My husband and I shared Seafood Low Mein Fun and sizzling green curry coconut chicken. The food was freshly prepared, the spiciness was adjusted as to our preference, it was nicely presented, There was enough food in those two entrees for both of us and a take-away box. Everything was delicious and we will definitely make the trip to North Bay again if only to eat at the Chicago Cafe.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edeng, Owner at Chicago Cafe, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks so much, very kind of you for this review. We are always trying to improve. Next time you drop in please let Helen Eng (owner) know who you are so she can thank you personally. Please visit us again!
Ed Eng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    28
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Would recommend. A bit pricey but worth every cent. Atmosphere and service were top notch. Truly amazing. The negative is that they have a huge menu but how is that a really bad thing??

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Asian Fusion in a Small City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

If you happen to be in North Bay when the Chicago Cafe puts on one of it's periodic (fixed menu) feasts, be sure to book a table. Otherwise, just go for lunch or dinner and order from the menu and you won't be disappointed. This is not what we used to know as a "Chinese and Canadian (or American) Food" restaurant (not that there is anything wrong with those eateries of our youth): the menu is what I've come to expect from Asian inspired restaurants that use good ingredients prepared creatively and presented attractively. The owner is hands-on and it shows.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“What a Feast!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have had the pleasure of attending many feasts at the Chicago Cafe over the years, however this past Autumn Feast has to be one of the very best. Not your typical fare, but always something very different and pleasing to the eye and palette. The ambiance makes for a very pleasurable evening spent with friends. It is also a lovely spot to stop for lunch downtown North Bay. Thanks Helen!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stopped in thinking the name of the restaurant was Asian Fusion. I had a Thai noodle dish and DH had a combination plate. We were well satisfied with the food and would stop there again. Not outstanding but better than many restaurants outside major cities.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicago Cafe also viewed

North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Chicago Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.