We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but service a bit slow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farina Ristorante - Inside Best Western

Farina Ristorante - Inside Best Western
700 Lakeshore Drive, North Bay, Ontario P1A 2G4, Canada
+1 705-474-5800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 146 Restaurants in North Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food, but service a bit slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We ate twice here during our hotel stay, once for supper and then for breakfast. The food was just fantastic, especially the supper. Our servers were pleasant but it definitely seemed like they were short handed. Another server and busboy seemed needed to keep up with the demand.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    37
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I dropped in to this restaurant after along day of driving, not expecting more than a hot meal and a beer. I was delighted to find an imaginative menu, a fine wine list, good execution by the kitchen and friendly service. Save room for dessert. Breakfast the next morning was hot, quick and delicious.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Traditional and captive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Traditional food, if staying at the hotel not really any other choice unless willing to drive. Fortunately my D and I were quite satisfied with our choices. She had gnocchi which she claimed was delicious - not heavy as often happens. The sauce managed to not overwhelm the gnocchi. Large portion meant leftovers.

My salad with figs, goat cheese and prosciutto was very good, not quite sure about the prosciutto wrapped scallops. They tasted alright but not quite as subtle and melting in the mouth as expected. These were both choices from the starter section - more than enough to make a meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“finally made it here and happy I did”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I've been wanting to try this place for a year now and finally, happily got the chance.
I found the décor borderline cheesy but it did suggest Italy and it was sooooo nice to dine out without big TV's everywhere and no loud music. The atmosphere is calm and sophisticated and makes you feel like your having an evening out.
As soon as we were seated, (the service was excellent), really good house olives and warm bread were brought to the table, which was lovely.
For appetizers we tried the Risotto Balls and Ceaser Salad, both of which were very good, but I felt the Salad was slightly over dressed as is so often the case.
My main course of Mushroom ravioli was spectacular and I will return again just for this dish. The sauce is very light and the mushroom flavour perfectly rich. I sampled a few other of the entrees and found some of the pasta was quite dense and heavy, which I do not like. I found everyone who had the dense pasta ended up taking some home because it was too heavy and filling to finish.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Met here for a Birthday party, the service and food as excellent. They even provided a scaled down menu to allow all the food to arrive quickly and together for a group of about 20.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farina Ristorante - Inside Best Western also viewed

North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Farina Ristorante - Inside Best Western? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farina Ristorante - Inside Best Western, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.