We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed and pleased with my experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1325 Seymour Street, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9V6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in North Bay
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Enjoyed and pleased with my experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Came in for a Training Session. Rooms were very clean and accommodating staff - no refrigerator regretfully. Training room was well accommodated. A bit out of reach for various restaurant choices, considering that the hotel had no restaurant or bar to eat .
Would not hesitate to return, but be better prepared knowing that there is no fridge in room. Especially if you are without a vehicle.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    65
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
41
32
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kapuskasing, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed several times and enjoyed the breakfast - there was a super friendly lady in charge in the morning; too bad she quit. They advertise fridge in the room,but it costs more. Finally, most hotels have this service and it doesn't cost more. The cost is high for services that are better on Lakeshore Dr. Best recommendation: in North Bay, find an hotel that is not on the highway.

Room Tip: Stay on the front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed for one night on business. Staff at counter were pleasant, no problems with check-in. Room was clean and well appointed. Breakfast was included and a decent buffet breakfast, everything was replenished / topped up as it was used. I misplaced my invoice after I left and called the hotel the next day and asked them to send me an email copy, it arrived in less than five minutes which was most helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
get_with_it,

We are always pleased to read feedback from our guests. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our Hot Buffet Breakfast and that we were able to provide you with your invoice in a timely manner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

hotel is very clean and up to date. staff was pleasent. lobby is small. lots of parking available. some resturants and shops within walking distance. building is smoke free. rooms are large and well appointed. working desk is small. TV swivels and works fine. they have in room movies and music available on the TV. the free breakfast includes hot pancakes, scrambled eggs and bacon. average selection with plenty of seating. HVAC unit by the window is slightly noisier than average but did not disturb my sleep. walls are sound proof. no welcoming extras (water, chocolate) was provided. wifi is free and simple to connect to. i would stay again.

Room Tip: there are 5 floors. the top floors with a room away from the elevator would be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
steve c,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that your enjoyed all of the in room amenities and breakfast! We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights while visiting friends and family. Service was good and its in a great location. Wacky wings, tim hortons etc just across the road and its not far from memorial gardens if you want to see a hockey game. Would definately stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We love welcoming our hockey fans! Thank you for your patronage, we hope you enjoyed your time with friends and family. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Upon check in we were asked our last name, no welcome to the Holiday Inn Express or anything. We were having a family gathering and asked for 3 rooms beside each other and they pretty much refused. Although the hotel was pretty empty. We then proceeded to the elevator (one was broken). Our room was standard, however we found out the pool was broke (the whole reason we picked this hotel and paid way to much). They told as we could go to the Travel Lodge across they way in the -10 weather to go swimming. That was not happening with a 4 month old. Although my sister-in-law did got with her 20 month old and said it was ridiculous as their hot tub was broken and there were not change rooms, so they had to use a public washroom full of ants. I went down to get coffee, which was empty and i had to ask for more to be made, and found out the pool was open just that the heater was broken. So that was still no help. The water pressure was pathetic and i still had soap in my hair. At check out they did not ask how our stay was or even said good morning. I think head office may want to come down and verify this hotels standards. This was a hit and miss for our family and we will not be going back or recommending.

Room Tip: Pay the same price for the Hampton Inn as the customer service is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Fridaythe13th,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered over the condition of some of the facilities and the room. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Hotel seemed fairly new, clean and warm on the cold snowy night we arrived. Room was clean and quiet. Only a short drive to the mall or restaurants. Free breakfast was nice and very convenient. Pricing is typical Holiday Inn, comparable to other newer hotels. Although not located downtown, it is across from the mall and located beside the main highway. Road noise isn't an issue...just the "beep beep" of the snowplows backing up if you are visiting during the winter months

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for taking to the time to review our property. We always enjoy positive feedback from our patrons. Great to know you enjoyed the breakfast options we offer while you were here. We hope to see you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay

Address: 1325 Seymour Street, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay.Enjoy comfort while you stay in our all new Award Winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of North Bay, Ontario, conveniently located only nine kilometers from the North Bay Jack Garland Airport (YYB). Get ready for family fun at our North Bay hotel, located just off Highway 17 with easy access to several area attractions including the Lake Nipissing Waterfront, the Northgate Shopping Centre and Memorial Gardens. Also nearby are the Capitol Centre, Osprey Links Golf Course and the Chief Commanda cruises. If you want even more ideas, a tourist info centre is just next door to our North Bay hotel. Travelers on business will be impressed with our accommodations in North Bay, Ontario. Conveniently located along all highways leading to North Bay, this fully non-smoking hotel is only minutes away from bus, train and airport transportation with fast highway access to all areas surrounding the city. Our North Bay Airport hotel is within close proximity to businesses such as Boart Longyear, Atlas Copco, Cementation, Bombardier, Goodyear, Sandvik and many others. In addition, meeting rooms with business services such as free high-speed, wired or wireless Internet access are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites North Bay
Holiday Inn North Bay
North Bay Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.