We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and centrally located.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1325 Seymour Street, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9V6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #3 of 26 hotels in North Bay
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Decent and centrally located.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was a bit put off by the smell of the lobby, it's kind of like someone who didn't shower, covered up with air freshener. That wasn't a great first impression, but once you get off the first floor it's fine.

The room we got was great, a suite with 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa bed. It fit our family of 4 perfectly. It was also equipped with a microwave and mini fridge. Bring your own shampoo and conditioner.

Breakfast was good, coffee was empty one morning which was disappointing, but food selection was good. There is a little shop with chips, chocolate bars, drinks, etc., that we could access at any time.

Pool was clean and often empty which was nice. There is no washroom however, so the kids had to go down the hall and pass the lobby dripping wet to get to a bathroom.

Staff was overall friendly and helpful, and it was a great stay considering the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the space in your Queen Suite during your stay! It is unfortunate that there was in unpleasant odor in the lobby when you arrived. We hope that the unaccounted odor did not last the for the remainder of your stay. You are correct in noticing the air freshener as we do have one placed in the lobby to greet guests with a welcoming scent. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    63
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
29
14
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was very impressed by the super cleanliness and the modernness of the hotel, starting with the front lobby entrance and eating area. The front desk staff were helpful and efficient.

We loved the location as it was within a short walking distance to the Dionne Quints Museum and right off Hwy 11. The hotel upgraded my colleague and I to a suite with a sitting area and fridge/microwave area. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Bed was super comfortable. I had some issues with the complimentary wireless, but there was an ethernet cable which helped.

The area to eat breakfast in the morning was spacious. I would have liked to see more healthy options on the buffet, but there was a selection of breads, egg items, a cool pancake making machine,
yoghurt, and hot items. There were different items on both mornings. Complimentary coffee/tea, apples, oranges, bananas 24/7 so a nice touch.

I would definitely recommend the hotel as it was a very enjoyable stay with nice amenities. Well done.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Although North Bay has some of the most expensive hotels, the friendly staff made up for it. We were greeted by a younger gentleman upon arrival and the ladies who were on duty afterwards were able to answer our questions and gave great directions. We were amazed that parking was so close to the front entrance. Home Depot is next to the hotel and
The breakfast was included with some of the most yummy cinnamon buns. Our room was quite spacious as well.

Room Tip: Depending upon where you plan to be in North Bay, this property is closer to the highway, but only 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Holiday Inn just for one night, check in was quick and painless.... Very friendly and warm staff behind the desk. Although we did not use the exercise room and pool they looked clean and adequate for a hotel of this size... Coffee and tea is available 24 hrs. a day,... Some of the nicest coffee I have had at a hotel chain.

Our room was clean and met all of our expectations, well lit shower and bathroom, choice of pillows ( soft or firm)... Well appointed amenaties. Breakfast was your standard fare (food prep staff were friendly) food was hot and constantly replenished.I would stay here again and also recommend it to others.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello "Bagpus" ... thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us. The positive feedback is always great to hear. I hope we can accommodate you with the same experience or better on your next stay in North Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Not much else to say other than it's a typical Holiday Inn Express.
Breakfast is your typical continental breakfast.
Parking lot is somewhat small, but you can find a spot somewhere.
Close to the highway but a bit of a drive to Main Street where most of the good restaurants are.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great staff & service, especially during breakfast. Well located near highway and shopping. Some hallway noise and unseated pool. Decent breakfast included in rate. Booked a "King suite", which turned out to be just a slightly longer regular room, with microwave and sink. Did not feel this was worth the extra money, and would just get a regular room in the future.

Room Tip: "Suites" are not really "suites".
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Swolphin,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff and the convenient location of our property. We would like to apologize for the room accommodations you received that fell below your expectations and the hallway noise and pool area affected your stay negatively. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I'm don't usually give poor reviews because I'm not that hard to please, but I had the worst night ever in this hotel recently.
The room was on the first floor with the window facing the parking lot so I should have been worried when I saw about 15 skidoos parked just outside our window! Also, there was some kind of kids figure skating event in town.
Anyway, the beds were hard as rocks, no pillow topped mattresses in this room. Also, for some reason the bed seemed to amplify any small movement so that by the time the ripple reached the other person in the bed it was like a tsunami. My husband was restless that night so you can imagine how cranky I was by 2am when I decided to open up the hide-a-bed so I could try and get some sleep. Well, the hide-a-bed was actually a bed of nails in disguise so there was no sleep forth coming.
If that wasn't bad enough, the hall that our room was in was separated from the lobby by a door and we were the first room inside the door. There is a free breakfast at this hotel from 6am until 10am so promptly at 6am the door to the lobby, right outside the door to our room, started slamming and it slammed every 5 minutes from 6am until 10am, and The skidoos started reving up around 7.
I was so angry that I didn't trust myself to speak to the people at the desk so I did the auto-checkout.
Truly I will never go back to this hotel.....ever

Room Tip: If you dare to stay at this hotel ask for a room on a high floor over looking the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Wendy P,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased that you gave a high score for our staff's service. However, please accept my sincerest apology for the overall dissatisfaction you may have experienced due to the condition of the bed that you were given and noise levels on site. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We will use your comments to improve our efforts.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay

Address: 1325 Seymour Street, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay.Enjoy comfort while you stay in our all new Award Winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of North Bay, Ontario, conveniently located only nine kilometers from the North Bay Jack Garland Airport (YYB). Get ready for family fun at our North Bay hotel, located just off Highway 17 with easy access to several area attractions including the Lake Nipissing Waterfront, the Northgate Shopping Centre and Memorial Gardens. Also nearby are the Capitol Centre, Osprey Links Golf Course and the Chief Commanda cruises. If you want even more ideas, a tourist info centre is just next door to our North Bay hotel. Travelers on business will be impressed with our accommodations in North Bay, Ontario. Conveniently located along all highways leading to North Bay, this fully non-smoking hotel is only minutes away from bus, train and airport transportation with fast highway access to all areas surrounding the city. Our North Bay Airport hotel is within close proximity to businesses such as Boart Longyear, Atlas Copco, Cementation, Bombardier, Goodyear, Sandvik and many others. In addition, meeting rooms with business services such as free high-speed, wired or wireless Internet access are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites North Bay
Holiday Inn North Bay
North Bay Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.