We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong Answer from the front desk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1325 Seymour Street, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9V6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 26 hotels in North Bay
Tecumseh, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wrong Answer from the front desk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Lets face it. It is a cookie cutter hotel. The Holiday Inn Express brand of hotels are all quite nice. Including this one.
Unfortunately it just takes that one experience to turn you off.
I was calling to book a room for one of my monthly trips through town. The gentleman that answered the direct line was pleasant. When he quoted the room rate for that particular date, I questioned why they had raised their rates so high from what I normally paid.
The answer was "BECAUSE WE CAN". Just not the right thing to say.
Did I mention how nice it is down by the lake at the other hotels.That's where I'll be staying from now on.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Tom T,

Thank you for the candid review of our property as this will guide us in making the right decisions. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the unsatisfactory answer of our staff. Kindly be assured that your comments will be looked into and will be discussed with the staff. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    61
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
29
14
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We were in North Bay due to a sudden death in the family and this hotel suited our needs very well. We received a warm welcome from Micheal at the front desk who not only worked tonight we checked in but the next morning as well and as we departed he always had a Freindly smile and a warm greeting. He was very kind when weexplained why we were in town. The next morning we had a very hearty breakfast and Debbie I think her name was assisted with apple juice when the machine ran out bringing it right to our table. She even helped track down a news paper from the day before and did it all with a smile like we were the only guests there. The room it self was very spacious, extremely clean and well appointed. Our two night stay was quiet and we had everything we needed during a vey trying time over the holidays.
This is a fantastic hotel with clean well appointed facilities and friendly helpful staff, what more could you ask for....maybe bette circumstances to be visiting...look forward to having those on a return stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the comment and for choosing the Holiday Inn Express, I was sorry to hear the reason for you visit. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay from the warm welcome to the hot breakfast. I will make sure to share you comments with all of the staff especially the ones you mentioned. We look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here for a week from Oct 15-19 on business. The staff is very helpful and friendly (especially the breakfast lady who is always cheerful). Complimentary hot breakfast is included.

The hotel is just right on Hwy 11 so very convenient.

During the last two nights of my stay, they had problems with their boiler so there was no hot water. The hotel was very apologetic and offered to transfer us to a nearby hotel, or stay for free. I chose the latter as transferring is a hassle. It is a great hotel that truly cares about its customers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for staying during your recent business trip, we are happy to be your choice when you visit North Bay. Thank you as well for your comments about our team, I will be sure to share your kind words with all of the team and especially our breakfast attendent, they really enjoy hearing that they had a impact our their guest's stay.

Thanks as well for you understanding with our boiler issue, I was happy to hear you chose to stay and "rough it" with us. We all look forward to seeing you again, thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed twice at this hotel recently, and both experiences were great. The rooms were clean, the staff was kind, and the breakfast was really good. We found that the location was convenient and easy to find. I will be recommending this hotel to family and friends, and will stay here the next time I'm in North Bay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel on your recent stay, I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay. We look forward to looking after you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Last night, two of my employers stayed at your hotel. Both of them were very disappointed. No curtains, just sheers on the windows made a very light room. Remote controls weren't working. The beds were old and uncomfortable and they both felt that for the money you charge, you could provide much better service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for the welcome feedback, I am truly sorry to hear of the issues that occured. We pride ourselves on delivering a comfortable stay for all of our guests, and a review of these discrepancies will be conducted by myself and our maintenance Manager and rectified. In regards to our curtains, blackout drapes are located behind the sheers and I am sorry we were not able to communicate that information to you. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Several rooms were booked in advance for a family wedding in town August 24th - 27th. Most of us were in North Bay for the first time, also it was the first for some of us staying at a Holiday Inn Express and Suites. Check in was a breeze, our rooms were all clean and ready when we arrived. It was surely a pleasant experience, the staff at the front desk, those who worked on the floors as well as the dining room were all courteous. The refrigerator in one our rooms was not cooling properly, we called the front desk and by the time we returned to our room we had a working refrigerator. On Sunday another room was requested for a family member (staying at another hotel) who wanted to stay the last night with us was so graciously accommodated. Just want to say a great big "Thank You" for making our stay a memorable experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We hope you all enjoyed your first visit to North Bay, we hope you will make us a regular stop in your travels from now on. We are happy to hear that your stay was smooth and effortless and we look forward to continuing to make your stays with us memorable ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great stay! New hotel, great location clse to the mall, and major roads. Warm breakfast is a must for sports tourism. Staff was friendly and accommodating staff. Nice to have more upscale choices throughout northern Ontario.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for making us your choice when you travel to Northern Ontario, we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay

Address: 1325 Seymour Street, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay.Enjoy comfort while you stay in our all new Award Winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of North Bay, Ontario, conveniently located only nine kilometers from the North Bay Jack Garland Airport (YYB). Get ready for family fun at our North Bay hotel, located just off Highway 17 with easy access to several area attractions including the Lake Nipissing Waterfront, the Northgate Shopping Centre and Memorial Gardens. Also nearby are the Capitol Centre, Osprey Links Golf Course and the Chief Commanda cruises. If you want even more ideas, a tourist info centre is just next door to our North Bay hotel. Travelers on business will be impressed with our accommodations in North Bay, Ontario. Conveniently located along all highways leading to North Bay, this fully non-smoking hotel is only minutes away from bus, train and airport transportation with fast highway access to all areas surrounding the city. Our North Bay Airport hotel is within close proximity to businesses such as Boart Longyear, Atlas Copco, Cementation, Bombardier, Goodyear, Sandvik and many others. In addition, meeting rooms with business services such as free high-speed, wired or wireless Internet access are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites North Bay
Holiday Inn North Bay
North Bay Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.