We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“None Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1325 Seymour Street, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9V6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 26 hotels in North Bay
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“None Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great reception staff and always a cheeful greeting. Love the white on white decor and bedding, no surprises for sure with this style!
Rate is quite good and with breakfast competitive enough to return regularly on business
Room layout is great and very comfy with everything you need for a great stay.

Location is pretty convenient on 17 highway and restaurants are not far away. Avoid Don Cherry's and Kings Chinese Buffet yuk.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    61
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
29
14
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waterdown, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Not cheap but it is nice & new & the breakfast is good & included. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
551 helpful votes 551 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is a good location next to the Trans-Canada Hwy for business or people in transit across Canada. Stayed there before and the rooms are clean and staff friendly. Lots of parking for all size vehicles and even four special parking spots for PCR Platinum members. Tim Hortons and a Mexican restaurant are about a 5-min walk away but if you want lots of food options within a short walk stay downtown or at the Hampton Inn 10 min drive West in North Bay near the TC Hwy if thats what you want. I stay here for the PCR points and drive where I want to eat.


Rates are too high all over North Bay due to its location on the Trans-Canada Hwy so this HIX starts at $128-$160 CAD depending on the season. But along the TC Hwy you have to sometimes pay more to get a nice room that is clean and in a newer hotel (this ones less than 6 yrs old I believe). Complementary HIX breakfast is typical but they really need to go back to sausage for the meat as the ham is terrible.

Negatives - No upgrade or extras (welcome gift) for Platinums, Rates are way too high for an HIX and Hampton Inn is a bit lower and a comparable facility if you check around.

Room Tip: Due the nature of a high volume of travellers on the Trans-Canada Hwy book well in advance or you co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port elgin ont.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here on April 14th 2012. After coming back from dinner, went back to my room and then decided to go down to the front desk to get some snacks. I went to pay for my purchase and put my wallet on the counter to get some change out of my pocket to pay for it. When i got back to my room, i realized i had left my wallet on the counter at the front desk. I went down to the front desk immediatly and told the person at the desk. They said noone had turned it in. When i was paying for my purchase i did notice an employee come up to the desk behind the person that was serving me. They didn"t let me check the cameras to see if anything was on it. The money can be replaced, all my ID and pictures not so easily. To the person who took itI hope this happens to you someday so you can feel what it's like. To the hotel staff, you could have been much more helpful. I will not be staying here again that's for sure! Rick Bourdeau Port Elgin Ontario

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear horses50,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Picked this hotel based on reviews.
After a 5 hour drive arrived here and was "ungreeted" by an unfriendly front desk. Not mean or angry, just "ho hum".
Was looking forward to a greeting of any sort, not here not today.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you very much for this comment and let me assure you that this is not the norm here at the Holiday Inn Express. We put a great emphasis on our welcome when our guests are arriving at our property and I am sorry that your experience was not up to par. We will revisit the importance of this part of the guest experience with all of our team. Thank you once again for the comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hotel provides a clean and adequate place to stay with easy access in North Bay. The rooms are well kept although ours had a musty smell even though the room, furnishings and facility was newer. The beds were average but sufficed as the price was reasonable. The facility is well appointed with new furnishings. The pool and fitness areas are smaller but clean and equipped with towels. Breakfast was average and has a pancake maker and the room also serves as a lounge with sofa and larger flat screen TV. The staff are very helpful. I believe suites are available. Our room had two queen beds, flat screen TV, desk with internet (cable not provided). The hotel is wireless. The is a small business centre to use public computers. There is also a small snack shop where you can purchase 3 items for $5.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

My family spent one night at the hotel and found the room very clean and comfortable. The staff - from the front desk clerk, to the cleaning lady, to the restaurant staff in the morning - were all extremely friendly and attentive. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay

Address: 1325 Seymour Street, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay.Enjoy comfort while you stay in our all new Award Winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of North Bay, Ontario, conveniently located only nine kilometers from the North Bay Jack Garland Airport (YYB). Get ready for family fun at our North Bay hotel, located just off Highway 17 with easy access to several area attractions including the Lake Nipissing Waterfront, the Northgate Shopping Centre and Memorial Gardens. Also nearby are the Capitol Centre, Osprey Links Golf Course and the Chief Commanda cruises. If you want even more ideas, a tourist info centre is just next door to our North Bay hotel. Travelers on business will be impressed with our accommodations in North Bay, Ontario. Conveniently located along all highways leading to North Bay, this fully non-smoking hotel is only minutes away from bus, train and airport transportation with fast highway access to all areas surrounding the city. Our North Bay Airport hotel is within close proximity to businesses such as Boart Longyear, Atlas Copco, Cementation, Bombardier, Goodyear, Sandvik and many others. In addition, meeting rooms with business services such as free high-speed, wired or wireless Internet access are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites North Bay
Holiday Inn North Bay
North Bay Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.