We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owners are lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeshore Suites

Save Saved
You added Lakeshore Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lakeshore Suites
710 Lakeshore Dr., North Bay, Ontario P1A 2G4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 hotels in North Bay
montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The owners are lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed here for two months between Arpil and June and it was a lovely stay. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the fireplace is a very nice touch. This is a great value.

It is also well located down the street from a 24 hour Metro grocery store and Tim Horton's. The owners were a pleasure to deal with.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
8
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Liskeard, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

BUT, there was a noise from the next room that sounded like a boiler or other machine turning on and off and thumping and banging all night. The staff was alerted around 1 a.m. and they were on the problem immediately. They had indeed put us in a suite beside a utility room and rather than offer us another room(the place was empty), the maintenance man "fixed" the noise. NOT! No sooner had he fixed it and left, the noise started again. My wife and I tried to tolerate it but around 2:30 they were called again and by then we were too tired to move so we ended up falling asleep due to exhaustion more than anything. The place was clean, the beds were comfortable, the price was very good due to time of year, but I was there to sleep, not wait for staff to fix a problem in the wee hours of the morning. I'm very sick and it was very cold out or I would have demanded another suite but you'd think they would have known to offer us another room rather than have to ask for the obvious. I mentioned it when checking out and all we received was an apology and a thanks for staying. They could have done better especially since the place was empty all but for maybe 2 other guests and there's two different sets of suites.

Room Tip: Make sure they don't put you beside any maintenance rooms if you're interested in sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here in October and was pleasantly surprised by this motel. The front desk clerk immediately upgraded us without us requesting it. The hotel was not busy so he gave us better value for our dollar, a smart business move. The room was recently renovated, had a living room area, small kitchenette and wonderful gas fireplace. You were very close to the water, just one street back and just down the road was an excellent irish pub serving authentic "Buffalo style" chicken wings. I would definitely look into staying here again if in the North Bay area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killaloe, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you are wanting a clean, comfortable, quiet, nicely decorated, and conveniently located motel in the city of North Bay, Ontario, Canada, I highly recommend Lakeshore Suites. I have been staying here periodically over the past three years, and always leave feeling rested. The owners are a lovely, friendly couple who live on-site. I feel very safe with the 24-hr. monitoring. I can walk a few blocks down the street and be on the beautiful shoreline of Lake Nipissing at Silver Birch Park. A number of grocery and convenience stores, restaurants, laundromat, fast-food places are located nearby as well. The kitchenette is well-equipped with microwave, coffee machine and coffee, refrigerator, basic dishes and utensils, dish soap and towels. There is a flat screen TV, internet, heat lamp in bathroom, jacuzzi suites (if you like to soak in one of these), great shower. Can't ask for more!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEAMINGTON
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I can't really say much more than previous guests. The rooms are well decorated and have Flat Panel TVs, fridge, microwave and nice sitting area. Even the front desk staff are well groomed and friendly. Beds are comfortable and rooms are clean. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, NB
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice and very clean, very comfy sleep...also we got free upgrades to our rooms and the fireplace was great...if you need a good rest while on the road - this is a great choice and good value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

For a very affordable price, we had a well-equipped, very clean room. And the hosts were very friendly.

It's very important to have our pet with us - we accomplished this, too.

The only down-side - the room was too warm for our liking. The window remained open, but a waste in my opinion.

I would have no problem recommending the Lakeshore Suites, North Bay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakeshore Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeshore Suites

Also Known As:
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel North Bay
Lakeshore Suites North Bay, Ontario
Address: 710 Lakeshore Dr., North Bay, Ontario P1A 2G4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 hotels in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Lakeshore Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeshore Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.