We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping Cabin is far beyond your regular camping experiance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gray's Log House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gray's Log House Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Gray's Log House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
5270 Hwy # 63, North Bay, Ontario P1B 8G4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 North Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Camping Cabin is far beyond your regular camping experiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband stumbled upon Gray's log house when looking for an affordable place to stay during the labour day long week-end. We are so happy that he found this beautiful B&B. We along with our two children (7&4) stayed in the "camping cabin". The cabin is beautifully decorated, tidy and smells amazing. All the comforts of home are here as well (mini fridge, toaster, kettle, coffee, etc.) Even the solar shower was fun to try (does not have a ton of water though). At night we were kept warm by the quilts that are hand made by Heather. The breakfast was amazing every morning, and Bill ensures that the weather report is delivered so you can plan your day. We will return to this gem!! Thank you Heather and Bill!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Another fun and relaxing weekend at the best B & B in North Bay and way beyond!
Located on the outskirts of North Bay, a feeling of peacefulness and relaxation happens the minute your drive up the road to the Log House and home of the Gray's. Inviting rooms, with lovely home made quilts( some are available for purchase too) and the best breakfasts served on beautiful china just add to the natural setting.
A Heritage Log Cabin with two bedrooms upstairs, and a livingroom( with pullout bed),eat in kitchen and mud room is one option.A camping cabin in the woods is another option and occasionally rooms are available in the main house. So many choices so make sure ot check it out when in the area! You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

A wonderful place to relax, and enjoy the outdoors. We booked Gray's Log House for a girls getaway, and I had such a relaxing time. The Log house is inviting and cozy, with something to look at in every corner. I really like that the house had a full kitchen, we stocked up on food and made all our meals. The beds are a delight to sleep in, such cozy pillows, quilts, and duvets. I also enjoyed the little chocolates and water that was in my room, nothing like a little bite of chocolate before snuggling up in bed. There is a flat screen tv in the living room, but we never even really turned it on. It is so inviting outside, there are lots of trails and the lake is minutes away. We went for a swim one day, and I was surprised how nice the water was, very clean and surprisingly warm. I could not find one fault at all in our stay, except that we couldn't have stayed longer

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This past weekend was absolutely amazing - - from the moment we pulled up the gravel drive and were greeted by the coolest dog ever (Eddie) it was pretty much impossible not to leave the stresses of "real life" behind. The picturesque setting, complete with a log cabin, fire pit and an infinite number of quilts, was the perfect backdrop for our girls weekend.

Log House (Accommodation) - we stayed in our own log house separate from the owners. It had two bedrooms that slept the 5 of us comfortably - there were two beds and two pull out couches. The kitchen had enough tableware, pots and pans that we were able to go to the grocery store and buy whatever we wanted to eat without having to think about whether or not we'd have the cookware to make it in. It was clean and well-kept while rustic enough that we still felt like we rented a "cabin" rather than a house.

The Grounds - The log houses are nestled in the trees, the property is huge, complete with walking trails. There is an adorable screened in gazebo which I assume would be perfect for buggy nights or rainy days. (I can picture myself eating dinner out there or playing board games however we were too pre-occupied watching Dirty Dancing lol)

The Owners - The owners are exactly what you want them to be. Charming, informative, available to help and know when to let you have your privacy. Heather Gray has made all the quilts that decorate the place (it was hard to only buy one) and her husband makes the wooden souvenirs... If they can figure out how to bottle the cheerfulness of this place I would buy that in a heartbeat as well.

Stuff to do - Because it was a "girls weekend" we spent a lot of our time drinking wine and laughing rather than exploring, however we did get out a bit. We went for a walk by the waterfront and out for lunch in town. We also spent the morning of our last day there sunning ourselves at a nearby beach (literally a 2 minute drive away and we had it to ourselves).

Overall - Just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at the Gray's Log House. The service was outstanding along with the food! The Gray's Log House gave us the privacy we were looking for and is wonderfully located across from the lake. The beds were comfortable and the house was very clean and inviting. We also found all the ammenities North Bay has to offer to be located close by. Great weekend getaway!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

A truly wonderful spot if you are in need of some rest and relaxation. Hosts are caring and helpful.
The gazebo in the garden is a delightful place to sit and read, have one's lunch or catch up with correspondence.If you have your own transport it is ideal, for everything to see is just a short drive away. If you are using public transport, there is none. As far as we were concerned, that was the only drawback. Without the assistance of the owners we would have had to walk long distances just to buy basic provisions. However, once stocked up, it would be hard to find a better place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We always feel like we are at home when we visit the Gray's Log Cabin in North Bay. Located a short distance east of the city the sense of hustle and bustle is left behind. The cabin is tucked under several pine trees that add to the feeling of solitude and comfort. Heather's breakfast are definitly worth getting up for.

Room Tip: The two rooms are equally accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gray's Log House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray's Log House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5270 Hwy # 63, North Bay, Ontario P1B 8G4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1870s log house b & b with two bedrooms and a shared bathroom. Book one room or enjoy the privacy of the whole house. Relax and enjoy the antiques and quilts in the little log house in the woods. We are open year round.Also available from May through September is the 'Old Stable', located by the babbling brook. This is luxury camping, complete with private composting toilet and cold water hand pump. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gray's Log House Bed & Breakfast North Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gray's Log House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.