We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate girls weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gray's Log House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gray's Log House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Gray's Log House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
5270 Hwy # 63, North Bay, Ontario P1B 8G4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 North Bay B&B and Inns
London, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Ultimate girls weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This past weekend was absolutely amazing - - from the moment we pulled up the gravel drive and were greeted by the coolest dog ever (Eddie) it was pretty much impossible not to leave the stresses of "real life" behind. The picturesque setting, complete with a log cabin, fire pit and an infinite number of quilts, was the perfect backdrop for our girls weekend.

Log House (Accommodation) - we stayed in our own log house separate from the owners. It had two bedrooms that slept the 5 of us comfortably - there were two beds and two pull out couches. The kitchen had enough tableware, pots and pans that we were able to go to the grocery store and buy whatever we wanted to eat without having to think about whether or not we'd have the cookware to make it in. It was clean and well-kept while rustic enough that we still felt like we rented a "cabin" rather than a house.

The Grounds - The log houses are nestled in the trees, the property is huge, complete with walking trails. There is an adorable screened in gazebo which I assume would be perfect for buggy nights or rainy days. (I can picture myself eating dinner out there or playing board games however we were too pre-occupied watching Dirty Dancing lol)

The Owners - The owners are exactly what you want them to be. Charming, informative, available to help and know when to let you have your privacy. Heather Gray has made all the quilts that decorate the place (it was hard to only buy one) and her husband makes the wooden souvenirs... If they can figure out how to bottle the cheerfulness of this place I would buy that in a heartbeat as well.

Stuff to do - Because it was a "girls weekend" we spent a lot of our time drinking wine and laughing rather than exploring, however we did get out a bit. We went for a walk by the waterfront and out for lunch in town. We also spent the morning of our last day there sunning ourselves at a nearby beach (literally a 2 minute drive away and we had it to ourselves).

Overall - Just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at the Gray's Log House. The service was outstanding along with the food! The Gray's Log House gave us the privacy we were looking for and is wonderfully located across from the lake. The beds were comfortable and the house was very clean and inviting. We also found all the ammenities North Bay has to offer to be located close by. Great weekend getaway!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

A truly wonderful spot if you are in need of some rest and relaxation. Hosts are caring and helpful.
The gazebo in the garden is a delightful place to sit and read, have one's lunch or catch up with correspondence.If you have your own transport it is ideal, for everything to see is just a short drive away. If you are using public transport, there is none. As far as we were concerned, that was the only drawback. Without the assistance of the owners we would have had to walk long distances just to buy basic provisions. However, once stocked up, it would be hard to find a better place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We always feel like we are at home when we visit the Gray's Log Cabin in North Bay. Located a short distance east of the city the sense of hustle and bustle is left behind. The cabin is tucked under several pine trees that add to the feeling of solitude and comfort. Heather's breakfast are definitly worth getting up for.

Room Tip: The two rooms are equally accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Friendly Host, great breakfast and comfy beds. Would definitely stay again during trips to North Bay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Our family of 5 adults rented this charming character log house for 6 nights and had an absolutely wonderful stay. Heather was a great host who provided us with great breakfasts every morning as well as little extras. The beds were very comfortable and having a whole house with access to the outdoors was great. It is a must to have a car if you wish to stay here and access all the amenities of North Bay. Thank you Heather and Bill. You are great ambassadors for North Bay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011 via mobile

Small but immaculate room with thoughtful amenities. Tasteful quilts and craft pieces abound. Cheerful hostess and great breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gray's Log House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray's Log House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5270 Hwy # 63, North Bay, Ontario P1B 8G4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1870s log house b & b with two bedrooms and a shared bathroom. Book one room or enjoy the privacy of the whole house. Relax and enjoy the antiques and quilts in the little log house in the woods. We are open year round.Also available from May through September is the 'Old Stable', located by the babbling brook. This is luxury camping, complete with private composting toilet and cold water hand pump. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gray's Log House Bed & Breakfast North Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gray's Log House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.