We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Clean” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Motel

Save Saved
You added Bay Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4335 Highway 11 N, North Bay, Ontario P1B 8G3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 hotels in North Bay
St Catharines, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not Clean”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

Stay there Nov 6-8 this is my 3rd time this time it was bad, the shower was filthy, black, left a know for the maid to clean the shower, which did not happen, only made the bed did not check the bathroom, give clean towels, they shut the heat off we got back from the craft show after 9 pm and the room was freezing. Could not receive incoming calls as they did not answer the phone, morning or night. Has gone down hill each year. Would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
10
5
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Place is terrible! Away from any major stores, coffee shops included. Cigarette burns on blankets, mould around tub, 19 " TV, WOW! Never again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No Fixed Address
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

Upon arrival, friendly Parth handed over the keys. His office was neat and laden with Buddhist relics.

The rooms were as can be expected for less than $75. Among the highlights--Stained carpet, worn bed spreads, and bathmats that read "Extreme Flirt". The lowlight--a lingering hint of fecal matter in the air (my chihuahua Fidel actually enjoyed this). Yet ironically, the room seemed clean overall and only one of the three smelled unpleasant.

There was a bottle opener permanently fastened to the door jam into the bathroom. This made me laugh, but was convenient nonetheless and got plenty of use. Our group was neighboured by a man in short shorts who smoked outdoors on chilly evenings.

  • Liked — Parth--he stole my heart.
  • Disliked — The hum.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

My daughter is going to Nippissing University this fall, so we needed a place to stay for the night as we drove up from Toronto to find her accomodation for the school year.

In planning this trip, I checked out the various websites such as hotels.com, also just searched Google for North Bay hotels. The prices for a place to just sleep the night were $100 plus even for the Comfort Inn, so when I found "The Bay Hotel" ranked high on Trip Advisor, I decided to make the call.

The room for two, with two beds was priced very reasonably at $63. Its exactly what we wanted: safe, simple, comfortable at a reasonable price. "The Bay" is located about a 5-7 minue drive north of the city, but North Bay only having 56,000 people, makes it about 20-25 minutes to anywhere in town, and only 10 minutes or so to the university and shopping on the north end of North Bay.

The room was comfortable, staff friendly. Sure the room could be more modern but for this price I am more than satisfied. The free wireless internet is a bonus. In our room #7, there was no problem getting a signal, in fact I'm writing this from our room right now. I travel quite a bit on business and most hotels charge $10-$15 for internet access so having it free is just an added bonus.

Other amenities:
- tv with sattelite
- microwave
- fridge

And for the person that complained that the toilet paper was too "rough", we brought a roll of the "good stuff", but didn't use it as what the hotel provided is just fine. Also in travelling north out of North Bay just look for the big billboard that says "Bay Hotel ahead 1 minute". Can't miss it.

I'd stay at the Bay again for sure
Doug and Char from Toronto

  • Liked — Great value for a clean comfortable room
  • Disliked — All good.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

Myself and my wife went to North Bay on September 30th. We reached North Bay late at the night so checked into Comfort Inn. Next day, We looked the phone book, called few motels and went to see the rooms and facilities in and around the city.

We found the "Bay Motel" which was just five minutes from all the major attractions, in a natural park like settings and MOST IMPORTANTLY, just at half the price of Comfort Inn ! We were welcomed with friendly smile at front desk, who was very helpful.

In that price we got very clean, neat room with air condition, fridge, microwave, and coffee ! Additionally room included setallite TV and in-room wrieless internet. There are few restaurants which are just at two minutes drive.

I will recommend this motel to all those who does not need a hi-fi luxerious hotel but need a good accomodation to relax and enjoy at a good price !

  • Liked — Great Value for the price
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

I did not pick this motel; my daughter Erin and her SO Rick had, previous to our arrival, apparently because it was "cheaper" than an earlier choice.

Getting there, we'd nearly turned around, over and over again, thinking we'd gone MUCH too far out of town without finding it.

Once found, the gentleman in the office was very pleasant & helpful, and the room was priced fairly. Luckily, the room next to Erin & Rick's was vacant, and actually came with an "upgrade"; a "countertop kitchen" - stainless steel kitchen sink & 4-plate countertop range (which we didn't make use of). Two double beds, mini-fridge & microwave, TV & ExpressVu, two remotes, A/C unit through the back wall (high up), ceiling fan, bedside digital clock/radio - everything worked well, except TV volume was marginal ("motel TVs?")

Complaints: Very '70s - a tad shabby, worn at the edges; you know the kind. Tidy, but not gleamingly spotless. Two-ply tissues in the room, *no* TP in the bathroom, industrial one-ply TP provided *after* a trip to the office (a BIG point of contention - this is somewhere I *DO NOT* want chafing, understand?!) Wireless internet access was abysmal, basically non-existent. L-shaped complex, we were in the corner room. Host's son came down (touted by the Host as his resident "expert"), who finally suggested I try sitting outside our room (so I can broadcast I have a laptop for the stealing, should I be fool enough not to take it with me from that point on). I finally *did* get a signal from their AP, sitting outside my room, though I didn't manage to access it successfully, due to low signal strength. I supposed I could have tried sitting in my car, parked in front of the office, to get an adequate signal with which to utilize the advertised wireless internet services, not an option I considered adequate. Distributing photos of my newborn grand-daughter would wait for my return home, sadly.

Locks on our windows were loose, but worked; in Erin & Rick's room, the receivers for the latches were missing (wouldn't lock, no protection).

My advance research focus was on wireless internet access, and for that reason (hindsight always being 20-20!) I wish we'd kept our original booking, since I spent considerable time and aggravation mucking about with a very unsatisfactory offering that really didn't make the grade, and really shouldn't've been on the sign in front of the motel.

Overall, no horror story, but a rather unsatisfying stay, nonetheless.

  • Disliked — Lack of advertised wireless internet access
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Motel

Address: 4335 Highway 11 N, North Bay, Ontario P1B 8G3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 hotels in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Hwy 11 N, this location offers quick and easy access to all major highways, rail, marine and airport services. Conveniently located next to the snow mobile and hiking trails. Ideal for travelers to Northern Ontario and Quebec. Offers clean, modern rooms with satellite TV, free of charge local telephone, a small fridge and microwave. A new white pine Jacuzzi suite with a fireplace is available at a reasonable price for special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel North Bay
Bay Motel North Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.