We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sisters time away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Motel

Save Saved
You added Bay Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4335 Highway 11 N, North Bay, Ontario P1B 8G3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 hotels in North Bay
North Bay, Canada
1 review
“sisters time away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Really nice place to stay. Owner's are very polite even when woken up way to early for most people. With a fridge, microwave an coffee maker in room makes you feel like you are at home. So if you need a nice clean room for a night or 2 stay at the "Bay MOTEL"

Room Tip: Be nice to the owners. They are really great people
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
10
5
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

What delightful little motel. The small ten unit motel is roughly 8km north on Highway 11N just outside of town.

The room is incredibly clean, the bed super comfortable and the hot water is just that Hot and plentiful.

I would have happily paid twice what I did for the same room.

As you head down the hill into town, stop at the Husky for an incredible breakfast at Auntie Jane's - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iroquois Falls
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

What can I say about this place that I haven't before? This place is great, and Rejean and his wife are delightful people (congratulations to you both....I understand you enjoyed a holiday back home to attend your Sons wedding this past December!!!!) they work so very hard to make their guests happy and feel as if you are staying at home.

I checked in to room number 5 of this Motor Inn style Highway 11 Motel. Being a smoking room it could have used some fresh air, but this has been a looooong cold winter here in the north and I don't recall a lot of opportunities to have the windows open too often! That being said, I asked for a smoking room! So, before you come in, you have to ask yourself what you are looking for in a hotel/motel. If you are looking for a clean, large facility with some charm acquired thru experience and some modern touches. If comfortable beds, good climate control, privacy, and wonderful service are what you need then this is by far the place. The Motel is by no means new, but it has certainly been well kept. The wall are freshly painted, the linens and coverings are new. The pillows are plush, there is a flat screen tv with great satellite service and wi fi of course. There is tasteful decor and everything is accompanied with a feeling of security. Another perk is the ability to park at your door! No hauling suitcases miles down the hallway! Lots of hot water and a ceiling fan to help circulate the more then ample heat from the antiquated wall furnace (very quiet!). Highway noise is also not an issue. There is also an in room refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The coffee maker is essential as you are 5 or 6 km North of North Bay. If you are like me, you don't want to double back to North Bay to get coffee before heading North...and the first coffee shop is Temagami which is 40 mins up the road!

I look forward to my stays at the Bay Motel. The owners are great people and are shining beacons in customer service along the Highway 11 corridor. This place provides a clean, safe, updated stay with a feeling of home. I am looking forward to my return in a week on my way to the sunny south to escape this dreadful winter!

Room Tip: If you are unsure, ask to see the room before you rent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

For the price, this place is unbeatable ! We had renovated room and place is right on high way, so very conviniet to start our further journey to North ! There are couple of restaurants alos close by !

We really enjoyed the stay and would definately recommend to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The room smelled bad like stale cigarette smoke, it was dirty and had not been renovated for years. I asked for another room, and it was worse - the pillow cases had sweat or oil stains as if they had never been washed. The blanket had cigarette burns in it and coffee stains. The towels had old makeup stains on them. I would never have booked this hotel - it was booked by a coworker. I left and stayed at a decent hotel down the road. Don't stay here!!! How this business stays open I will never understand.

Room Tip: Don't choose ANY of their rooms!! Stay somewhere else!!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iroquois Falls
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Made a reservation on Booking.com. We were looking for a place under 100$ on the way home from Toronto. Being a small business owner myself I always try to find these 'Mom and Pop' type of oporations...more often then not I am pleasently surprised, as I was this evening!

Check in was a breeze, even with a late arrival! The owner was on hand with a quick rattle of the door and eager to serve. A very pleasant gentleman who was even good enough to provide me with a bag of ice when inquired as to whether or not there was an ice machine....a cold beer after a long drive is always nice :). The room though basic is well equiped and has been offered some recent tender loving care. It appears there was a new flat screen television, new washroom fixtures and ceramic floor, new bed linens, and new draperies all topped off with a fresh coat of paint. Its amazing how the small esthetic things can affect your perception! Beds are very comfortable and the staellite tv was nice to unwind with. The bathrrom could have been better satocked with some conditioner and a second travel sized bar of soap but I understand these things cost money :). All in all this place far exceeded my expectations! I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone looking for a clean, renovated, comfortable and welcoming place to stay. To the owners, you deserve recognition! A small business in the north is a hard go and you folks are doing an excellent job! Keep up the good work, looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajen D, Owner at Bay Motel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our business.

We appreciate your kind words about our motel. We work hard to make sure that each guest enjoys their stay at the Bay Motel. We have recently renovated our rooms and are continuing to make improvements.

We would love to have you stay with us again on your next trip in the area.

Rajen Dholakia
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Motel

Address: 4335 Highway 11 N, North Bay, Ontario P1B 8G3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 hotels in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Hwy 11 N, this location offers quick and easy access to all major highways, rail, marine and airport services. Conveniently located next to the snow mobile and hiking trails. Ideal for travelers to Northern Ontario and Quebec. Offers clean, modern rooms with satellite TV, free of charge local telephone, a small fridge and microwave. A new white pine Jacuzzi suite with a fireplace is available at a reasonable price for special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel North Bay
Bay Motel North Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.