We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fool me once but not twice” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Inn on the Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunset Inn on the Park to your Saves list
Sunset Inn on the Park
641 Lakeshore Drive, North Bay, Ontario P1A 2E9, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 North Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sudbury
1 review
“Fool me once but not twice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

Very disappointed in the Sunset Inn. We had a wedding in the family and most of us had seen the commercials on TV and the website and thought that this would be the place to stay.....NOT....We stayed in the three bedroom "chalet" and honestly there are fish huts on Nipissing that are in better condition...the "chalet was disgusting. We had no coffee! the rug was dirty, the "duvet" was a rag, the walls were dirty, the glasses had to be cleaned before using them..we spent our time killing spiders inside our "chalet"..the bedrooms were barely bigger than a double bed.....and throughout the "chalet" there was no room to move! My brother was going to stay in another "chalet" and actually wanted to cancel but was informed that you need to give 30 days notice...buyer beware!...rather, management upgraded him to another room.....but again very overpriced! Thank goodness for the White Owl Bistro food is magnificient! We will NOT return to the Sunset Inn nor will we even recommend it to anyone....Our nephew stayed at the Terrace Bay Inn in Callander which is 10 minutes from the Sunset Inn and we would highly recommend you stay there.

  • Liked — Ducks were friendly and the White Owl Bistro
  • Disliked — where do I start?
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    15
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
40
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Timmins, Ontario
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2008

As to be expected, when searching on-line for a place to spend a weekend, looks are very deceiving. On-line, the cottage looks luxurious, spacious and comfortable. Being a group of six women on an all girls weekend, in the mood for having a good time, hanging out, etc. we were disappointed in the size of the cottage. Walking into the main living area was like walking into my 12 x 12 kitchen. It was a good thing we were all close friends that didn't mind bumping into each other. Ample sleeping quarters, I guess, but we weren't there to sleep, much, anyways. We made the best out of it (moved the kitchen table out, brought the mattresses into the living area, etc. ) lol, but I have to say, very disappointed in how this place is presented on-line.

  • Liked — The cute guy at the front desk.
  • Disliked — The size of the cottage
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffmckinz, Manager at Sunset Inn on the Park, responded to this review, June 12, 2009
Hello, Thank you for your response. We tried to make our online pictures exactly what the room protrays. The cottage you stayed in actually doesn't have pictures online. We only have pictures of our two bedroom chalet which you stayed in our three bedroom chalet. Our rooms and suites are very nice and wish you could have seen them. Please try our two bedroom chalet next time or a couple of our Fireplace suites. Thanks for your honesty and review. We take these to heart and try to improve our establishment every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2007

Stayed a week in North Bay for a nice mid-winter getaway. Chose Sunset Inn because of 1) the location; not smack in the middle of town but not way out in the boonies either, and 2) they offered a nice, roomy, well-equipped housekeeping chalet so we didn't have to dine out every time. The owners were quite friendly and attentive to our needs. Attached White Owl Bistro is one of North Bay's best restaurants. Our chalet was clean and nicely decorated, with daily maid service included. Not the cheapest place to stay in the area, but we felt the rates were not out-of-line for what we got. Would return if visiting North Bay again.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2006

Does anyone ever go back a second time?
We booked one night in a King/Fireplace room at a rate of $169.00. We are not adversed to paying that rate or we would have booked the Travelodge, but we would really like to get value for the money.
This was just a mediocor room with a squeeky ceiling fan. Yes you can see the lake from the balcony but first you had to look across the parking lot.
The only good thing was their recommendation of the Bistro next door, great food and service.
And we wonder were are the American tourists have gone?

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Inn on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn on the Park

Address: 641 Lakeshore Drive, North Bay, Ontario P1A 2E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Inn is located in North Bay, on beautiful Lake Nipissing in Northern Ontario. Our unique Inn, a haven of tranquillity, awaits to enfold you in luxury and service. Create an unforgettable getaway in one of our luxurious suites. We also have variety of different types of rooms to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunset Inn on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Inn On The Park Hotel North Bay
Sunset Inn On The Park North Bay, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Inn on the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.