We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Owl Bistro

White Owl Bistro
639 Lakeshore Drive, North Bay, Ontario P1A 2E9, Canada
(705) 472-2662
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 149 Restaurants in North Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Went for dinner with my Red Hat friends- the staff were very accomodating of our group- service was perfect and everyone enjoyed their meals. Nice variety on the menu and it was all delicious.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gramma24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The exterior of the building is nothing spectacular to look at, but once inside you see that this is fine dining. We were informed that the food is all made from scratch when ordered, so get comfy and prepare for a wait. Get a scotch or wine and relax. This restaurant is all about the atmosphere and the quality of the food, which was very tasty!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mgoldade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

A year end celebration was held by my organization. Twenty people were present and the dishes were as gorgeous as they were delicious. the services was also excellent yet relaxed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmomNorthBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Good food but felt it was overpriced for North Bay. Only six people in the small restaurant so not sure how they keep in business.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Misleading...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Not sure what is so good about this place. We went there and the whole place was deserted: no people, no servers, no nothing. After about 10 mins of waiting around, a server finally came out from the bar. I had a supreme of chicken and wife ordered a rainbow trout. Ordered drinks and again, no service for a good 25 minutes. Afterwards, server comes with a tiny piece of bread. Well that would've been great to have about 20 mins ago!! 5 mins later they serve the food. Needless to say, we weren't impressed with it. The trout was falling all over the place and soggy. And my chicken tasted like dried raisins! To sum up, bad food, bad service....don't understand the fuss with this "bistro".

Oh, I could've gone to a grocery store, paid the same $50 and get a year's supply of raisins!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Owl Bistro also viewed

North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to White Owl Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing