We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quints Were Rare Then” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dionne Quints Museum

Dionne Quints Museum
1375 Seymour Street | Highways 11 & 17, North Bay, Ontario P1B 9V6, Canada
705-472-8480
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 attractions in North Bay
Type: Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Quints Were Rare Then”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Truly a look back in history to a time when quintuplets were considered abnormal. The Dionne family was destitute and quintuplets were an extreme burden but the public interest in this freak happening was extremely intrusive. The fact that all 5 survived and all became nuns is an interesting story.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I was in awe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

After receiving an outstanding tour of the museum from one of the Chamber tour guides, I was completely in awe of the quaint farm house that once housed the quintuplets and their family. There is so much history in that small farm house and it is so well preserved.

I hung on to every word the guide said as the story and artefacts are fascinating. I actually didn't want to leave as I wanted to learn more about the farmhouse and the family history.

Thank you for making it a highlight of my business trip. If I am ever in the area again, I will make sure that I re visit the farm house to learn even more interesting facts.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great ltiile attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Considering the age of this home, it is quit interesting to see how much has been preserved from such a long time ago. Nice articles to look at. Not a very long tour so don't plan hours into your trip but well worth it. A piece of history.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“heart warming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just felt very good to be in this building and think back to when they were all living in here.Although the home has been moved to this property, it is still wonderful.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temiskaming Shores, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fascinating History well presented”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Historically interesting from a bygone era. The path up to the original house has a plaque placed by Dionne sisters when they visited as adults, which causes one to pause and think. It is quite moving and tastefully done. The memorabilia in the main building, the friendliness and courtesy of the staff, and the old movie made for a delightful experience. There is a fee if you wish to take the original house tour. The rest is free. Nice picnic tables with shade.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dionne Quints Museum also viewed

 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Dionne Quints Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dionne Quints Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.