We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full-Filling spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J T Sushi

J T Sushi
225 Lakeshore Dr, North Bay, Ontario P1A 2B7, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 142 Restaurants in North Bay
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Full-Filling spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

An 'all you can eat' restaurant with good service and great staff. Maybe not fine dining, but lots of fun and you won't be too hungry for quite a while afterward.
We ate here twice so I tried a lot of items... the seaweed and the salmon skin salads were great. Tried the eel, octopus, tuna, salmon, mackeral, shrimp and vegetable tempuras, udon noodles, beef ribs and rolls, skewers, and a few others I cant remember!
The shrimp maki was a little dry and the miso soup was good but a little salty.
The staff will help you decide what to have that day - listen to them ;-)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swastika, ON
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food service could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

It was the first time we went to J T Sushi on a Sunday night, it was supper time and it wasn't busy, we were put behind a wall where you sit by the window, we asked how it worked and the waitress explained and we started, the food was fresh and great, as we were getting to the main dishes, the time between taking our orders were getting longer and longer. We were looking for a waitress to take our orders, one came by to open the curtain smiled and just kept going, We ordered drinks and we got our drinks but then we had to ask for glasses, I guess they were more concern about cleaning the place before closing we were still eating and the vacuum was going. We were the last ones to leave, luckily we weren't in a hurry to go anywhere afterwards.
We experienced different dishes. We didn't have any "extra costs" because we shared most of our dishes. My wife enjoyed the deep fried ice cream it has been years since she had it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing food and prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I frequent JT sushi weekly and I love it! All you can eat sushi with very good prices. The service is hit or miss but for 14$ all you can eat lunch can you really complain? If you like sushi or you are willing to try sushi, this is the place to go! Now I'm craving sushi!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a bad experience!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Table of 8 and the service was awful! When the people that had the all you can eat ordered, only a portion of the orders ever came. They forgot half the food. The a la carte entres were not hot and the Pad Thai was awful. Eventually the waitress disappeared, probably in an attempt to stop our table from ordering anymore food. I will not return!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
2 reviews
“Changing Pricing without notice to customer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Everything is great except that they rip you off on what they deem a "special" occasions like Valentines Day. My friend and I weren't celebrating, we just went for lunch. The restaurant was not busy at all so it's not like we were taking up valentine's diner space. When we got our bill, much to our dismay, they charged us a premium rate without any notice. There were no notices on the door when we arrived and the server did not mention it. If they are going to change their pricing, on a special day, they should make the diner aware. Plus it ticks me off that they raise their lunch prices on Fridays.
Other than that, great food and the service is usually good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J T Sushi also viewed

North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to J T Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J T Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.