We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changing Pricing without notice to customer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of J T Sushi

J T Sushi
225 Lakeshore Dr, North Bay, Ontario P1A 2B7, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 150 Restaurants in North Bay
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
North Bay, Canada
2 reviews
“Changing Pricing without notice to customer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Everything is great except that they rip you off on what they deem a "special" occasions like Valentines Day. My friend and I weren't celebrating, we just went for lunch. The restaurant was not busy at all so it's not like we were taking up valentine's diner space. When we got our bill, much to our dismay, they charged us a premium rate without any notice. There were no notices on the door when we arrived and the server did not mention it. If they are going to change their pricing, on a special day, they should make the diner aware. Plus it ticks me off that they raise their lunch prices on Fridays.
Other than that, great food and the service is usually good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    14
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dismal Food in Dismal Surroundings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Interior of dining room reminds me of the barracks cafeteria - no wait; at least they had cutlery.
No pictures on the wall, no music and bright lights - about as much atmosphere as a bus station waiting room. Main dining area has dirty carpet on the floor - is this a joke ?

Small portions arrive in a hap-hazard manner, some items never arrived.
Food is bland and of low quality.

Two meals with soft drinks and the bill came to almost $60...

Makes my top ten worst dining experiences - give this one a wiiiide berth.....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We were happy on our December 13, 2012 visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Before going to this restaurant we read several previous trip advisor reviews and certainly were concerned about the level of service that we would receive. We arrived around 5pm (we are seniors) and were greeted quickly and warmly by several staff. We explained that we did not understand the serving system nor did we have any idea of what kind of food to ask for. They were all very kind to us and we did our part by only ordering small amounts of each dish in case we did not like it. They explained every item to our full satisfaction and we were completely satisfied with their service and food quality.
We will return to this restaurant

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundridge, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Food was great - service not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The food was amazing but the waitresses seemed to be distracted. There were only 4 tables there for lunch. We didn't get 3 of the dishes we ordered. One of the waitresses walked out of the dining room carrying a pizza box!
All in all it was a good meal. I have recommended it to quite a few people.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The all you can eat buffet is jus that! You order anything on the menu and the food just keeps on coming!
We go with different friends about once a month and just love it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J T Sushi also viewed

North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
North Bay, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to J T Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J T Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.