We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore to your Saves list
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   718 Lakeshore Drive, North Bay, Ontario P1A 2G4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in North Bay
Pickering
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We've stayed here many times. Not fancy or new but comfortable with good sized rooms and clean. Excellent breakfast included. Waffles, cereal, oatmeal, toast, bagels, etc. Hotel is on the Lakeshore in "old North Bay ". Close enough to downtown and about 15 minutes from the university of Nipissing. Excellent value when compared to newer more expensive hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Picfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Found this hotel to be clean and tidy. Everything you would expect for this price range. We arrived late in the evening and we met by a very friendly young lady who had us taken care of and checked in in under 5 mins. She took the time to locate where we were going on a local map and explained the route around some local construction.

The room was clean and tidy. The mattresses on the beds had been changed recently so we got an extremely comfortable nights rest. We found the rooms incredibly quiet. Washroom was incredibly large and the towels seemed incredibly soft.
Free Breakfast was what would be expected. I enjoyed the waffles and orange juice. Staff were extremely pleasant.

Overall experience at this hotel would prompt me to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EGL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I would have liked the chairs in the room to be a little more comfortable (for us old folks) but other than that we enoy our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed at the Travelodge on Lakeshore in North Bay for one night on the May long weekend. I booked the hotel online through Booking.com after having phoned the hotel directly and told that there were no vacancies of non-smoking rooms for the weekend. Interesting that Booking.com had three non-smoking rooms listed as available.

I had never stayed at this hotel before. When I have been in town for business in the past I have stayed at the Comfort Inn. This Travelodge is substandard to all of my previous stays at the Comfort Inn.

That having been said, it was clean, and the price was just under a hundred dollars for the night. There was a mini fridge and microwave in the room, and the TV. I was travelling with family, so we had two beds, and there was a table and two chairs and a coffee maker.

Interestingly, there was no dresser. There was an open closet, with ironing board/iron. The TV was in an old, rather beat up cabinet that looked like it came from the Goodwill. It had two doors on the bottom storage area, but it was not appropriate for clothes. This did not matter to me as I was only staying one night, but it would matter if one was staying at least a few days and wanted to unpack. There was plenty of room along the wall for a proper dresser that you typically find in these establishments.

While the sheets were clean, they were yellowing with age. The bedspread was old, pilled, stained, and threadbare. Not as disgusting as I have seen in places before, but not very appealing either. The pillows were too soft, and there were no extras, nor extra blankets in the room. I did not ask for extras, so perhaps they are available through the front desk. The bed, however, was not too hard or soft; just fine.

The bathroom was basic with a small floating vanity, toilet, and built-in tub/shower combo. I initially thought that the shower was going to be invigorating, as it had a fancy goose-neck and large shower head, however, there was virtually no water pressure! I had to play with it to find a setting that would allow enough water to rinse. There was only a very basic small square bar of soap, and a travel bottle of shampoo provided as amenities.

The hotel advertises free WiFi in the rooms, however, it was spotty at best. After 11 pm, when most of the guests had seemingly gone to bed, I could suddenly access the internet. Not good for a business traveller that needs connectivity.

The room rate included continental breakfast, but I didn't get to try it as it was only open from 6:30 am to 9:00 am. For the Sunday of a long weekend this is not appropriate. It should have been open until 10:00 am, if not 11:00 am.

This hotel could be vastly improved very easily. The room I was in had a brick wall behind the beds. It was very nice, with that industrial loft look. If the bed linens were new, and there were duvets on the beds with washable covers, that alone would amp things up a notch. Get rid of the ugly TV cabinet and put the TV on a long dresser, with the fridge and microwave at the end. Put extra pillows/blankets in the room. And do something to fix the water pressure. That's not much, and it would make it an excellent facility.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyoftheCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLLAKE, General Manager at Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our hotel.Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your feedback by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.Again, thank you for providing feedback. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Bay hotels
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
0.0 mi away
Lakeshore Suites
Lakeshore Suites
#6 of 26 in North Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay
0.4 mi away
Super 8 North Bay
Super 8 North Bay
#4 of 26 in North Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore

Address: 718 Lakeshore Drive, North Bay, Ontario P1A 2G4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 718 Lakeshore Drive, this 72 room Travelodge Lakeshore North Bay in the first hotel/motel in North Bay off of Highway 11. Under new ownership and management the Hotel is in the process of upgrading our overall service and facility. Across from the shores of Lake Nipissing - we are a very important and popular year round all season destination for over night stays. We welcome everyone to come and experience our warmth and hospitality in one of our 72 tastefully decorated rooms and join us for a hearty breakfast each morning (when visiting or passing by North Bay Ontario). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeshore (North Bay) Travelodge Hotel North Bay
Travel Lodge North Bay
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore Ontario
North Bay Travel Lodge
North Bay Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing