We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give credit where's it's due” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Airport North Bay

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Airport North Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Airport North Bay
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1525 Seymour Street (Hwy 11 & 17), North Bay, Ontario P1B 8G4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in North Bay
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Give credit where's it's due”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I was nervous when we first pulled up to this hotel. It is not located in the prettiest of places and your options are a view of the parking lot, the other parking lot, or the highway. Check in was swift and we were notified that the pool was open but the hot tub was not. It didn't matter to us as we weren't interested in either.

We were located in room 138 on the ground floor -of course - overlooking the parking lot. The neighbours to one side of us were sitting outside enjoying some beer hanging out by the back of their van. The moment I opened the drapes I was greeted by an audience and so the drapes stayed closed for the duration. The next morning we were also greeted by a large barking dog who was hanging out as well. This too didn't bother us. After all it was after 10a.m.

The room was well appointed with 2 queen beds that offered excellent comfort for what turned out to be a quiet and restful 2 nights sleep. There was a large flat screen tv, small bar fridge and microwave as well as a coffee maker. The bathroom was spacious with granite counter and plenty of fresh clean towels. This is where unfortunately as well that things fell short. Though I must give the staff an A+ for the room cleaning overall there was obvious mold at the base of the wall tiles obvious to anyone with their eyes open.

I had heard from friends staying at this hotel that they did not have a room as nice as ours. It would be best to clarify with the hotel exactly what you're getting. If you think this hotel is near the airport I suppose it depends on your definition of "close". Be prepared to drive 10+ minutes to get to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, General Manager at Travelodge Airport North Bay, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad overall you enjoyed your stay. We are renovating starting on August 25, 2014 and will be replacing the bathroom tiles in all our rooms which will take care of the problem you had. We are the second closest hotel to the Jack Garland Airport which makes us an airport location.

Again thank you for your review and we hope to see you in the future.

Regards,
Kathy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    16
    12
    11
See reviews for
23
20
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our family spent the night here after a long day of hiking. We checked-in quite late at night. The reason that we stayed here was because our son wanted to swim in the pool in the morning. When we checked in, there was no mention of the pool being closed. Had we been told, we would have stayed elsewhere. In the morning, boy were we disappointed when we took our son down to the pool only to discover that it was closed and that we had to travel to the hotel across the street to use the pool. We were in a rush, it was super inconvenient, and we wound up getting a later start to our day so our son wasn't disappointed. NOT pleased. I truly feel that we didn't get what we payed for.

Other than that, I have no complaints about the hotel. Beds were comfortable, rooms were clean, location was convenient. I gave a 3/5, as this is how I would rate it had the pool been working... possibly even a 4. Based on our personal experience I would give it a 2. I would stay elsewhere if I were ever in North Bay again, just based on this experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, General Manager at Travelodge Airport North Bay, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. I am sorry you were disappointed and inconvenienced due to the pool being closed. We were waiting for a heater. The heater was installed Monday July 7th and as to health and safety regulations we need our local health unit to give us the okay that the pool can now be opened. So it will be open soon. We had put a note on the desk where you check in that the pool is closed and I am sorry you missed seeing this and the GSR did not mention the fact that it was closed. We do hope you will stay with us again.

Regards,
Kathy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our family stayed here two nights. On the whole, we were very satisfied with our stay at this hotel. The room was clean and the staff were friendly. We enjoyed the hot breakfast in the morning as well. One disappointing thing was that the pool and hot tub were closed. We had booked the hotel around a month before and it was advertised that the pool/hot tub were down but it would be fixed by the time we arrived. Unfortunately, that was not the case - they were still waiting for a part as the front desk person informed us. On a positive note, they let us know that we could use the pool at the Holiday Inn across the street (which unfortunately did not have a hot tub). It was better than not having a pool though. The hotel is right across the road from the Information Centre and Dionne Quints Museum which was an added bonus.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, General Manager at Travelodge Airport North Bay, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you May S. for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are disappointed as well that the pool was not available for use on the date we had anticipated, we hope to have the heater here and installed shortly. It is great have the North Bay Information Centre and Dionne Quints Museum right across the street for our guests.
Again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.

Regards,
Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

To start off, the pool was closed which was the whole reason for us staying here, which we didn't discover until we went to swim, with no apology fromthe desk clerk. We were told we could go across the highway to the Holiday Inn!. The heat in the hallway was oppressive and stifling. There was no elevator to the second floor, which made climbing stairs with a heavy suitcases uncomfortable and unbearable for my and my wife's bad knees. I also noticed that there was no accessability button for wheelchair guests to open the front door.I found the eggs too salty, the bacon too thin, and the portions lacking! There was no diabetic or gluton free dietary options. This hotel is NOWHERE near the airport! And certainly not worth the $150 per night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, General Manager at Travelodge Airport North Bay, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Barb,

Thank you for your review. Yes our pool was shut down during your stay. We are awaiting a heater and we had thought it would have arrived and been installed by the 16th of June. However that has was not the case. So we did make arrangements across the street for our guests to swim there. Most guests have found this to be a satisfactory solution...I am sorry you did not. We do have air conditioning in the lobby as well as in your rooms and I am sorry you found the hallway to hot. We will be installing an wheelchair accessible button to our front door this fall and we do have two accessible rooms available on the main floor for our guests which have easy accessible patio doors should they wish to reserve or request either of these rooms upon check in. As for the breakfast, I am sorry you are disappointed as many of our guests appreciate the different available options and should you find one serving not enough we do have more available should you ask. We do offer health options of cereal, breads and fruit which are displayed on the counter top. We do offer the most poplar items requested by guests in surveys and unfortunately we can not cater to all dietary needs as we are not a restaurant and guests which have these dietary needs usually will call in advance to check on our breakfast offerings. The Jack Garland Airport is 2.5 KM away from our hotel which makes us the second close hotel in North Bay and the closest Travelodge to the Airport thereby the name. We do conduct a survey of rates often and our rates fall within other locations in our area.

Regards,
Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We will stay here again. We traveled to North Bay to see the Niagara Ice Dogs play the North Bay Battalion. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and easy to access. The bed was very comfortable and had a choice of bed covering. The duvets are pretty, but can be a bit hot for me, and having a choice of a lighter cover was perfect.

Lynn, at the front desk helped us get a taxi and made a great food recommendation. All the staff was friendly and welcoming. I thoroughly enjoy the use of "your welcome", as opposed to "no problem". There were no problems and the staff made us very welcome.

The internet was easy to access and was reasonably fast, considering the hotel was full.

There was a bit of noise from the stairs to the second floor. We stayed in an end unit, with lots of light, and this was a good trade off for me.

The locals at the hockey game were friendly and welcoming. We will go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Manager at Travelodge Airport North Bay, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you so much for the excellent review and positive feedback! I will certainly forward your comments to Lynn, our front desk representative, and our housekeeping team. I am also very pleased that you not only only had a warm welcome at our hotel but received the same response at the hockey game from the people of North Bay. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to our fair city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

North Bay a very friendly place to visit; even with -32° weather outdoors. Family of 4; 2 adults; 2 kids

LOCATION — Very good
• Can walk to Northgate Mall (100 stores; good variety including Sears; Future shop; Walmart; clothing stores).
• Wacky Wings and Canadian Legends Bar/Eateries within 2-5 minute walk.
• 10% discount @ Cdn Legends on orders if you present Travelodge room key prior to placing your order. Huge portions! Great Pea soup - home made!! We loved all our meals ordered.
• Friendly taxi service when needed

ROOM —
• Pets welcome here; so opening windows or patio doors great for pets or those of us with allergies:)
• Updated bathroom with black marble sink counter;
• pleasant colour scheme; updated furniture; new carpeting
• storage: small open closet; + 6-drawer cabinet
• small bar fridge;
• coffee/tea maker good; clean;
• mattresses; new; firm;
• good sound control between rooms.
• we had bottom floor so walking above was muffled.
• It was very cold so we kept blanket at patio doors to keep out the draft.
• good heater unit in room w/several settings;
• very warm hallways (welcomed for colder days!!)
• TV - movies; limited stations

STAFF:
Friendly; polite and warm reception upon arrival from Front Reception staff - very good!!
• Sheila (phone front desk) was very helpful in adding requests prior to arrival — thank you!
• Brenda — check-out was excellent. Always have a smile for guests :)
• Cleaning staff - Joyce (?) always had a smile. 1st floor cleaning staff polite — some of the ladies could smile more as this makes guests feel welcomed.
• Excellent service by Front Receptionist Belugah (spelling?) with changing rooms immediately upon request; and searching better suited room for our needs within 1/2 hour

Hot Breakfast Included -
• New hot breakfast was appreciated;
• nice setting with fireplace really great on cold morning (-32° outdoors)
• limited menu; some healthy choices —
• all self-serve; toast your own bagels, toast; make your own waffles;
• small carrot muffins;
• juices from machine (cranberry; apple; orange);
• need to place order request for small portion of eggs and turkey/bacon patty.
• short on yogurt - two days out of three.
• Coffee; tea (1 brand);
• cereals

NOTE: Staff will keep to hours as posted; will announce 5 minutes prior to closing.
Immediately breakfast area room gets cleaned.
Breakfast staff polite; could smile more. Please face guests when responding "out of this or that" — we understood and found something else to eat.

POOL - please update - we chose not to swim as the pool was not inviting; worn-out look; kids did not feel like going in :(

Room Tip: Ground Floor — Rooms facing back parking lot quieter; nice fields/tree view (rather than Hwy 11; pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Manager at Travelodge Airport North Bay, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback. The detail you provided allows us to identify where we can improve and what we are doing well. A special thanks for identifying staff who went "above and beyond" to make your stay a pleasant one; we have passed on your comments/compliments to those named in your review. We hope to see you again during your next "stay in the Bay".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Airport North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Airport North Bay

Address: 1525 Seymour Street (Hwy 11 & 17), North Bay, Ontario P1B 8G4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Airport North Bay 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to experience sleeping comfort in our PILLOWTOP KING and DOUBLE QUEEN guestrooms. As our guest, you will be treated to complimentary HIGH SPEED internet access (both WIRED/wireless) and FREE parking. Start your day with a COMPLIMENTARY HOT BREAKFAST (featuring fresh waffles, eggs and bacon or sausage), a refreshing dip in our POOL or soak in our relaxing HOT TUB. We are located minutes from restaurants, shopping, the college & university and local businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Travelodge Airport North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge North Bay
Travel Lodge North Bay
North Bay Travelodge
North Bay Travel Lodge
Travelodge Airport North Bay Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Airport North Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.