We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an older downtown property that has been nicely...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson North Bay

Howard Johnson North Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson North Bay to your Saves list
Howard Johnson North Bay
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Mcintyre Street West, North Bay, Ontario P1B 2Y9, Canada (Formerly Northgate Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in North Bay
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    14
    11
    12
See reviews for
20
19
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Requested ground level room and although they had not assigned one to me, the on duty guest relation person was good enough to find one for me.
Room was clean and all the appliances worked well. Fridge, Microwave and coffee maker were all included as well as a hair drier I did not need to use.
Morning Breakfast was minimal but sufficient to start my day.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I was on a budget and picked this place for the price of around $75/a night. There is nothing fancy about the place, but the room I had #22 (I think) seemed fine. The operators were friendly and helpful, but the whole place desperately needs a update, as its really run down. The breakfast was a typical continental style, and the coffee was good.. I'd like to try a different place if I was in the area again though...

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I chose this hotel because of it's location and that was all that it delivered on. I have stayed at Howard Johnson's before but this one was sub par compared with the other I have stayed at. The rooms were dirty and had several ants crawling around, also there were also no towels. In the morning the hotel had promised free breakfast, but there was nothing.

There are other hotels in the area and in the future I would spend the extra couple of dollars to stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Well I stayed there with a friend In May! We booked online we didn't know we had to put a had to put a 100$ Deposit Down! Which we got back when checking out!! It took forever for the guy to look over the room!! But Besides that the Room was Okay.. The Ice container was Dirty!


The Breakfast was okay besides the Orange Juice and Milk was Room Temperature !! Really Disgusting .


It was My first time staying there and last time!! :)

Room Tip: I found the room on the main floor was pretty quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson North Bay

Address: 255 Mcintyre Street West, North Bay, Ontario P1B 2Y9, Canada (Formerly Northgate Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson North Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson North Bay Hotel North Bay
Days Inn North Bay
Howard Johnson North Bay Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson North Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.