We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a facelift bigtime!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson North Bay

Howard Johnson North Bay
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson North Bay to your Saves list
Howard Johnson North Bay
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Mcintyre Street West, North Bay, Ontario P1B 2Y9, Canada (Formerly Northgate Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in North Bay
Val-Caron
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“In need of a facelift bigtime!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

An older hotel found on hotline.com rated a 3star but in reality it was more like a 1.5 or a 2 @ the most. Usually a 3 star rating is for a Holliday Inn....When we I opened the pullout bed their was allot of crumbs and food in the sheets.I m not comming back here

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric-gaudreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

great value but the rooms are sub-par. my room felt damp and stunk of stale smoke.
the comforters they had wreaked of cigarettes, i had to pull a blanket out of the car for my 2 year old to sleep with.
washrooms had rust stains all over.. could see mold around tub and sink.
i guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Bay hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

There for one night. Comfortable bed and clean sheets. No heat got out of shower when water turn hot because someone was using cold in another room. Dirty face cloth found in bathroom drawer. Bath at on yellow side but smelled fresh. Mold around tub. No shampoo.. Very 60's decor. No comment on free breakfast because I had to leave early. You get what you pay for. I'd go back if I had no choice.

Room Tip: No pool. Small city. Your 15 minutes to anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Overall, i got a pretty good value from the 1 night stay. For $85, you cant really ask for more. Once you realize that its a motel and not a jotel, my mistake for not realizing that prior to booking, you cant really ask for more. My room was clean, tv and microwave worked just fine, and great service from the front desk.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vozhd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This hotel was a really good value for our money. The manager on duty was very nice to us and helpful with any issues that we had. We got upgraded to a king size bed and there was a nice LCD TV in the room. It was clean and relatively quiet. It's not a high-class hotel, but for the money it was certainly more than adequate. If I'm ever up there again, I'd definitely stay there and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good cheap, clean place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emcat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. It is clean, nice LCD TV, renovated bathroom, new carpet. Located in downtown North Bay. You can get 25% off if you stay for 3 nights.
I booked this hotel using worldweb.com.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 8. Everything is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 155019Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

I often visit Northbay and i stay many different hotels but this time i decided to stay with Howard Johnson in downtown b'cos it is very good in price compare to other hotel in town and it is downtown so i can walk around.When i enter i listen its new management after that i enter in the room i was surprice i did not expected this. its a nice bed, big LCD tv, nice big and clean room including fridge, microwave, cofee maker,free hi-speed internet . and they have 4-5 movies channels are free so i enjoy that lcd flat screen tv.The staff of this hotel are friendly they are always ready to serve . This is good value of my money.In morning they have free continental brek fast. i am so happy. now when ever i will visit northbay definetly i will stay in this hotel. Thank you to Howard Johnson for give me exellent srvice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dvyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
3.6 mi away
Travelodge North Bay Lakeshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport (North Bay)
3.6 mi away
Lakeshore Suites
Lakeshore Suites
#6 of 26 in North Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson North Bay

Address: 255 Mcintyre Street West, North Bay, Ontario P1B 2Y9, Canada (Formerly Northgate Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson North Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson North Bay Hotel North Bay
Days Inn North Bay
Howard Johnson North Bay Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing