We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a facelift bigtime!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson North Bay

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson North Bay to your Saves list
Howard Johnson North Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson North Bay
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Mcintyre Street West, North Bay, Ontario P1B 2Y9, Canada (Formerly Northgate Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #17 of 26 hotels in North Bay
Val-Caron
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“In need of a facelift bigtime!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

An older hotel found on hotline.com rated a 3star but in reality it was more like a 1.5 or a 2 @ the most. Usually a 3 star rating is for a Holliday Inn....When we I opened the pullout bed their was allot of crumbs and food in the sheets.I m not comming back here

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    10
    10
    9
See reviews for
14
15
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

great value but the rooms are sub-par. my room felt damp and stunk of stale smoke.
the comforters they had wreaked of cigarettes, i had to pull a blanket out of the car for my 2 year old to sleep with.
washrooms had rust stains all over.. could see mold around tub and sink.
i guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

There for one night. Comfortable bed and clean sheets. No heat got out of shower when water turn hot because someone was using cold in another room. Dirty face cloth found in bathroom drawer. Bath at on yellow side but smelled fresh. Mold around tub. No shampoo.. Very 60's decor. No comment on free breakfast because I had to leave early. You get what you pay for. I'd go back if I had no choice.

Room Tip: No pool. Small city. Your 15 minutes to anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012 via mobile

Overall, i got a pretty good value from the 1 night stay. For $85, you cant really ask for more. Once you realize that its a motel and not a jotel, my mistake for not realizing that prior to booking, you cant really ask for more. My room was clean, tv and microwave worked just fine, and great service from the front desk.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This hotel was a really good value for our money. The manager on duty was very nice to us and helpful with any issues that we had. We got upgraded to a king size bed and there was a nice LCD TV in the room. It was clean and relatively quiet. It's not a high-class hotel, but for the money it was certainly more than adequate. If I'm ever up there again, I'd definitely stay there and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good cheap, clean place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. It is clean, nice LCD TV, renovated bathroom, new carpet. Located in downtown North Bay. You can get 25% off if you stay for 3 nights.
I booked this hotel using worldweb.com.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 8. Everything is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

I often visit Northbay and i stay many different hotels but this time i decided to stay with Howard Johnson in downtown b'cos it is very good in price compare to other hotel in town and it is downtown so i can walk around.When i enter i listen its new management after that i enter in the room i was surprice i did not expected this. its a nice bed, big LCD tv, nice big and clean room including fridge, microwave, cofee maker,free hi-speed internet . and they have 4-5 movies channels are free so i enjoy that lcd flat screen tv.The staff of this hotel are friendly they are always ready to serve . This is good value of my money.In morning they have free continental brek fast. i am so happy. now when ever i will visit northbay definetly i will stay in this hotel. Thank you to Howard Johnson for give me exellent srvice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson North Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson North Bay

Address: 255 Mcintyre Street West, North Bay, Ontario P1B 2Y9, Canada (Formerly Northgate Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 hotels in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson North Bay 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson North Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson North Bay Hotel North Bay
Days Inn North Bay
Howard Johnson North Bay Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson North Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.