We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms dated but clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Lakeshore Dr., North Bay, Ontario P1A 2G4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in North Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rooms dated but clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

The rooms could use a refreshing of decor and furniture. The most disappointing is the analog tv with only a few clear stations to chose from. The rest of the channels were snowy and blurry. I didn't use the pool facilities, but the restaurant food was good for a hotel restaurant. It is an average hotel, but could use an update.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you Susan, we are a 40 year old property and we continue to update our rooms. Recently we done all the carpets, new beds, new televisions, marble counter tops and window ledges. Our case goods are only 5 years old. We continue every few months on bringing something new into our guestrooms.
I apologize for the Television, it could have been a problem with the local cable company, however I will have our maintenance staff to check on it, wish you had told us sooner and we would have moved you to another room.
Glad that you enjoyed your experience with our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    67
    28
    15
    10
See reviews for
39
40
11
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We were treated as special people, to this wonderful hotel. Although the hotel was filled to capacity, the service was outstanding, the hotel was clean, (not noisy), and we had a fun experience. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you so very much for the review, it is import to us to be provided with feed back so that we can continue to keep doing the right things and make improvements for the growth of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I usually stay at the Comfort next door but I tried the BW because it has a pool. The room had a funky odour but it was clean. There was no fridge and no free continental breakfast but the restaurant in the hotel was very nice.
If you don't capitalize on the pool/hot-tub/sauna and the convenience of their restaurant, I would recommend the Comfort Inn.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you Dan for your comments, thank you for giving us a try and that you enjoyed the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Easy access off the road this Best Western has an upgraded lobby and looked so promising. We were given a room at the back so drove around to the back entrance. As soon as we opened the door we knew this wasn't good. The smell of damp and mold was obvious. We were given the room across from the laundry so very very noisy. The door sticks and the only way to close it was to slam it. The furniture is dated, certainly nothing like the internet photo. The one small table barely held my laptop and no office chIr, so had to turn the very heavy chair, put a pillow on it to use the computer. The hotel does not offer breakfast and most Best westerns with Onsite but not owned restaurants provide a discount for the on site restaurant breakfast....not this one. We paid full price. Certainly no recognition for being a platinum member.

Room Tip: Avoid room 135
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you Pamela for your comments - I apologize that you where put beside the laundry room. With 4 days of major rain and cooler weather it has caused dampness in both rooms and public areas and the door sticking. Which you reported and maintenance is addressing on room 135. We offer rooms with desks and we would have been glad to move you should you have spoken with our staff. I will review with our new hires regarding recognition for our Platinum members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We arrived very late. Check in was so easy! The hotel was easy to find but a few kilometres off the highway. The room was clean but very basic. They did not offer a breakfast included rate. Check out was even easier.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you Getaway, for your review. We offer our restaurant for breakfast which is made fresh to order. Glad that your stay was comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We really like this hotel - coffee upon arrival, really nice staff, clean fresh rooms ... great breakfast. Highly recommended. The hotel is well located in North Bay and easy to find. The rooms are perfect for work before meetings. We look forward to passing through again soon. Deborah

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you Deborah, glad that you find out location perfect for your needs. Look forward to having you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I arrived at the hotel at 11:30pm after driving for 12 hours, check in was fast and efficient, got to my room, undressed showered and tried to sleep. Then the drumming started above me, I think he or she was drumming on a desk, dresser or night stand. Long story short, after three attempts by front desk to get them to stop I was moved at 1am to another room where I slept well until breakfast at 8am. I was given a free full breakfast for the trouble. I was told that the person above me was in the band of the show that is playing at the hotel, probably the drummer!
Breakfast was good and I was on my way for another day of 10 hours of driving.

Room Tip: Ask if anyone staying above you is in the band.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you Mark, I apologize that you had been disturbed by another guest. Pleased that my staff got you moved and provided you with a Full Breakfast with their apology for the inconvenience caused by another guest. We hope that you will return for another stay with our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 700 Lakeshore Dr., North Bay, Ontario P1A 2G4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IT'S OFFICIAL... The newly installed SIMMONS PILLOW TOP MATTRESSES, Wireless High Speed Internet, 37" LCD TVs in all guestrooms, FARINA RISTORANTE, FAB Lounge, new BUSINESS CENTRE, new fitness equipment and onsite guest laundry are a hit!! Over 2 million dollars has been spent since 2010 upgrading our public areas and guestrooms. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, we invite you to visit the refreshed Best Western Hotel and Conference Centre, located directly across from beautiful Lake Nipissing and only minutes to downtown North Bay's shopping, dining and entertainment options. We look forward to welcoming you soon to North Bay's Largest Conference Hotel where guests can earn Air Miles Reward Miles, Best Western Reward Points or Airline Miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre Ontario
North Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.