We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and cons, overall nice stay ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Lakeshore Dr., North Bay, Ontario P1A 2G4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 & Earn a Reward
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in North Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Pros and cons, overall nice stay ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I usually stay at the Comfort next door but I tried the BW because it has a pool. The room had a funky odour but it was clean. There was no fridge and no free continental breakfast but the restaurant in the hotel was very nice.
If you don't capitalize on the pool/hot-tub/sauna and the convenience of their restaurant, I would recommend the Comfort Inn.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you Dan for your comments, thank you for giving us a try and that you enjoyed the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    72
    30
    16
    10
See reviews for
42
42
12
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Easy access off the road this Best Western has an upgraded lobby and looked so promising. We were given a room at the back so drove around to the back entrance. As soon as we opened the door we knew this wasn't good. The smell of damp and mold was obvious. We were given the room across from the laundry so very very noisy. The door sticks and the only way to close it was to slam it. The furniture is dated, certainly nothing like the internet photo. The one small table barely held my laptop and no office chIr, so had to turn the very heavy chair, put a pillow on it to use the computer. The hotel does not offer breakfast and most Best westerns with Onsite but not owned restaurants provide a discount for the on site restaurant breakfast....not this one. We paid full price. Certainly no recognition for being a platinum member.

Room Tip: Avoid room 135
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you Pamela for your comments - I apologize that you where put beside the laundry room. With 4 days of major rain and cooler weather it has caused dampness in both rooms and public areas and the door sticking. Which you reported and maintenance is addressing on room 135. We offer rooms with desks and we would have been glad to move you should you have spoken with our staff. I will review with our new hires regarding recognition for our Platinum members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We arrived very late. Check in was so easy! The hotel was easy to find but a few kilometres off the highway. The room was clean but very basic. They did not offer a breakfast included rate. Check out was even easier.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you Getaway, for your review. We offer our restaurant for breakfast which is made fresh to order. Glad that your stay was comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We really like this hotel - coffee upon arrival, really nice staff, clean fresh rooms ... great breakfast. Highly recommended. The hotel is well located in North Bay and easy to find. The rooms are perfect for work before meetings. We look forward to passing through again soon. Deborah

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you Deborah, glad that you find out location perfect for your needs. Look forward to having you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I arrived at the hotel at 11:30pm after driving for 12 hours, check in was fast and efficient, got to my room, undressed showered and tried to sleep. Then the drumming started above me, I think he or she was drumming on a desk, dresser or night stand. Long story short, after three attempts by front desk to get them to stop I was moved at 1am to another room where I slept well until breakfast at 8am. I was given a free full breakfast for the trouble. I was told that the person above me was in the band of the show that is playing at the hotel, probably the drummer!
Breakfast was good and I was on my way for another day of 10 hours of driving.

Room Tip: Ask if anyone staying above you is in the band.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you Mark, I apologize that you had been disturbed by another guest. Pleased that my staff got you moved and provided you with a Full Breakfast with their apology for the inconvenience caused by another guest. We hope that you will return for another stay with our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have stayed at Best Western hotels for over 20 years and we always look for Best Westerns first. The Rewards program is good. The summer programs with incentives like free nights after 3 stays is always appreciated. We usually get a better rate than non Best Western Members. Best Westerns are reliably better quality hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you Laurie, glad that again your stay with us was a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We recently did a trip to Northern Ontario - and never having been in North Bay defaulted to Best Western for accomodations for 2 nites.
Great choice ! Check in was seamless, room was ready, clean and up to date. There is a small lounge - great service, and as it was quite warm we were able to take our drinks to an area of outside tables - nice touch. Had breakfast in the hotel restaurant the next morning - conceivably the quickest service I have experienced in a sit down restaurant - served up by a very cheerful and attentive server - and the food was great.
Had a swim in the pool, sit in the sauna - all good. Appears to be popular as their banquet facility was full both nites we were there.
Check out equally quick and cheerful.
Would certainly stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: Hotel is somewhat out of the way on a fairly quiet road, so I doubt there are any rooms to "avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for your review, glad that you had a wonderful experience. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 700 Lakeshore Dr., North Bay, Ontario P1A 2G4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IT'S OFFICIAL... The newly installed SIMMONS PILLOW TOP MATTRESSES, Wireless High Speed Internet, 37" LCD TVs in all guestrooms, FARINA RISTORANTE, FAB Lounge, new BUSINESS CENTRE, new fitness equipment and onsite guest laundry are a hit!! Over 2 million dollars has been spent since 2010 upgrading our public areas and guestrooms. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, we invite you to visit the refreshed Best Western Hotel and Conference Centre, located directly across from beautiful Lake Nipissing and only minutes to downtown North Bay's shopping, dining and entertainment options. We look forward to welcoming you soon to North Bay's Largest Conference Hotel where guests can earn Air Miles Reward Miles, Best Western Reward Points or Airline Miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre Ontario
North Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.