We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Get-a-Way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Lakeshore Dr., North Bay, Ontario P1A 2G4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in North Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
Penetanguishene, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Weekend Get-a-Way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had a very comfortable weekend at this hotel. On entering the facility, we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist. Check-in was very quick and on entering our room we found it very clean. The restaurant served us 2 excellent meals and the servers were very attentive and continued to make sure we had all we wanted. Good value and service.

Room Tip: All rooms that we saw were very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, I will share with our team. We hope to see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    68
    28
    15
    10
See reviews for
40
40
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were booked in at this hotel because we were running a meeting in the conference centre. When we arrived we were not given the rooms we had contracted (this was quickly fixed by the Rooms Manager), the executive rooms we had contracted were better than the standard but were still seriously lacking. They smelled funny, were in serious need of some sprucing up and just didn't feel good overall. The hotel has no elevator to the second floor and made a fuss when a colleague asked someone to help her carry her bags upstairs. I experienced attitude from staff in banquets and at the front desk. I had breakfast at the restaurant in the morning and it was overpriced for the quality you were getting and service was very slow (not sure if that reflects on hotel per se but it's all part of the package in my books). The meeting room was also DISGUSTING but that's another story.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you Canadian Travel Lady, I am sorry that you did not have a good experience at our hotel and that we fell short on your expectations and our hotels highest standards. Your comments will be address with our department managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We use this hotel for our northern Ontario group meetings. There is always a large group of us, and as well as the conference room, we take up a good number of rooms. There was no requirement for us to travel outside the hotel, every amenity was here for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you Mark - it is always a pleasure to have you and your group stay with us. Your feedback is important to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Friendly staff but had to pay extra for a fridge as I was staying for three nights. No continental breakfast and had to spend $12 on bacon and eggs in the Italian Restaurant on site. Left a day early and went to a Super 8 which was less expensive, had a fridge and a nice breakfast included. Would not recommend staying here as theer are better options closer to amenities in North Bay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you Matthew for your comments, all of our upgraded guestrooms provide fridges and microwaves. We have additional that we rent out for $5 per day for those wishing to have a fridge for convenience. Many of our guest prefer having the freshly made breakfast and being served.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My friend and I stayed here with her daughter at the end of May. We booked on hotwire, where it was rated 4-stars...so we were pretty disappointed with what we found when we arrived.

The hotel has plenty of parking and a nice lobby area, but no elevators. So we had to lug all of our stuff and the baby's stuff and the baby up the majestic staircase ourselves...not easy.

The room is big and looks nice, but there were hairs on the bed that did not belong to us. There was also some random hair in the bathtub. The toilet seat was clearly old and worn...with scratches and deep glaring grooves worn into the plastic...gross...

They provided only 'conditioning shampoo' instead of a separate shampoo and conditioner.

The shower did have a really nice shower head, good pressure etc. But the towels were also kind of old and a bit worn.

The tv had some issues...you couldn't use the hairdryer and have someone watching tv because it would make the tv go all blurry/fuzzy...weird.

There were not enough power outlets...nor were they conveniently located. So only one of us could charge our phone...there were no power outlets on the other side of the bed...even the lamp was attached with an extension cord that went under the bed to the other side...

There was a big, nice pool...but the pool area and locker room were disgusting...so much hair and dirt on the floors it made me want to puke while walking through...ewww. Someone just needs to get in there and clean up more often...much more often...

The restaurant was very good...but they fill it up with reservations...we had a lot of trouble getting a table and had to wait a long time...we were even basically told that we probably wouldn't get a table because of reservations... ummm it's a restaurant in a hotel...shouldn't they leave a few tables open for GUESTS?????

If I had a choice, I would stay at the Hampton next time (where I've stayed before and I know it's better quality...) or maybe try the Holiday Inn?....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you Jenn from TO for your comments, I apologize for the cleanliness issues that you found, I wish you can call the desk we would have moved you to another room. I will address issues with our housekeeping staff and do some retraining with our new staff so that they understand the important of brand standards and guests expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Best Western for my son's soccer tournament. The staff was very responsive and cordial. The actual physical space was clean and updated. While it was not overly fancy -- it was very comfortable and in a good location

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you Terry for your comment, glad that you found our staff friendly and that it was a good location for your needs. Look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

North Bay was mainly a place to stop for the night so as to see some family homes. I was not happy with having only double beds nor that breakfast was not included in the price. This hotel seems to cater to business and conferences, fortunately there was little sign of either. Cavernous, felt like a motel rather than a hotel. Only saving grace were the pool (did not use) and close to the lake.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you Sigehaizi for your comments, yes we are a full service conference hotel, glad that you rated our rooms as being clean and that we have an indoor pool. We hope to see you when you visit family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 700 Lakeshore Dr., North Bay, Ontario P1A 2G4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IT'S OFFICIAL... The newly installed SIMMONS PILLOW TOP MATTRESSES, Wireless High Speed Internet, 37" LCD TVs in all guestrooms, FARINA RISTORANTE, FAB Lounge, new BUSINESS CENTRE, new fitness equipment and onsite guest laundry are a hit!! Over 2 million dollars has been spent since 2010 upgrading our public areas and guestrooms. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, we invite you to visit the refreshed Best Western Hotel and Conference Centre, located directly across from beautiful Lake Nipissing and only minutes to downtown North Bay's shopping, dining and entertainment options. We look forward to welcoming you soon to North Bay's Largest Conference Hotel where guests can earn Air Miles Reward Miles, Best Western Reward Points or Airline Miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Best Western and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre Ontario
North Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.