We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for the money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Lakeshore Dr., North Bay, Ontario P1A 2G4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #10 of 26 hotels in North Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Great stay for the money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I booked our room over the Internet which was very convenient.
We stayed one night, which was a Saturday night, where a wedding reception was being held. I was quite concerned due to the anticipation of noise and much to my delight we didn't hear a peep.
I fully enjoyed the new Simmons pillow top mattress. Had the best sleep in a long time!
We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCrescenzi_1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you Wildemptynester for the great review of your stay. We're happy that you found our new beds to be quite comfortable and the stay to be a pleasant one. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regardless of the season, there is always something great to do in North Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    61
    22
    16
    10
See reviews for
39
34
11
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed in July, room was clean and offered quietness for a good nights sleep. Fixtures were older and a touch outdated but overall was very comfortable. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. This hotel did offer a very good value for the amount we paid for the night. I would recommend this hotel for a good nights sleep away from home.
This hotel also had a pool which we did not have the opportunity to try but it did look inviting and clean.

Room Tip: Good value for your buck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCrescenzi_1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Pgrobitaille, thank you for your review and for recognizing the comfort, cleanliness and good value in choosing our hotel, as well as the helpfulness and friendliness of our team members. We hope you will return again and will have the time to enjoy the additional services of our pool and restaurant the next time around. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

the first room we were given had a moldy , musty smell. The manager offered us an air freshener !! We moved to another room with no odour, but the carpets and chair were badly stained. The whole hotel was a bit dusty and needed a good cleaning, pool had some gungy stuff floating in it. The beds and TV's were new and we were told the carpets and chairs will eventually be replaced. Would have moved to another hotel, but we were attending a wedding the the conference centre so it was convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCrescenzi_1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Linda, thank you for your review of our hotel. We're sorry that we didn't exceed your expectations during this visit. While many upgrades have occurred in the hotel over the last year, which have garnered excellent guest feedback, we are excited to get our remaining upgrades completed over the next few months. We hope you would choose to return in the near future to see that your comments were certainly taken seriously and that we have, in fact, implemented the additional upgrades we spoke of. It is always our goal to ensure a pleasant and comfortable stay for all our guests, while maintaining the high standards of the Best Western brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed for one night passing through North Bay. It was clean and spacious. The bed was also very comfortable The restaurant in the hotel was highly recommended, so we decided to go and it was very good. The only down falls about this hotel was that there was no fridge in our room and also no breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCrescenzi_1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
I would like to thank you Kgamache for your review of our hotel. We're pleased that you found our new beds to be comfortable and , the room to be spacious and clean, and our new restaurant to be quite good. We do have fridges and microwaves in all our upgraded rooms, and also have an inventory of these items which can also be delivered to other guestrooms as needed. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed this past weekend
The good: We were impressed by the room. It was clean and equipped with a microwave and bar fridge. Bed was comfortable. Pool looked nice although we did not use it. Lake is across the road from the hotel and several restaurants are close by.
The Bad: 1) Very Noisy air conditioner
2) We were woken up by a call at 7:45 in the morning (disappointing after a 7 hour drive the day before and a rare morning we could have slept in!!!) from the front desk asking me who I was and why I was in this room! It was the room we were checked into the night before. After answering her ridiculous questions, and unable to fall back to sleep I went to the front desk to inquire as to why we were woken with such questions. She simply said she was "doing her job" as they didn't understand why my husband and I were in that room! As far as I know she would have been doing her job she would have known who she had checked into which rooms!! (she is the same girl who checked us in on Friday night- and gave us the keys to the room). There was no apology and for this reason we will never be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCrescenzi_1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you Kluvs2travel for your constructive review about your experience at our hotel this past weekend and for the kind words about the cleanliness of your guestroom and comfort of the bed. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the noisy Air Conditioner and interruption by the Front Desk the following morning. These experiences are in no way indicative of the service we are striving to provide. Coincidentally, we did complete an installation of new (and very quiet) Air Conditioning units in the hotel just last week, so I am led to believe that your unit was either not installed properly, or has another shortcoming. Unfortunately, from your screen name, I am unable to determine which room you may have occupied so it would be hard for me to investigate further. If you are willing to contact me directly, my e-mail address is john.crescenzi@whg.com. We strive to ensure a care-free stay for our guests and would like to work to win back your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed at this BW hotel last week and wow. I had booked reservations elsewhere but that Big Named hotel was pittiful, ( See my reviews ). Started looking for another hotel within 10 mins of being in it. BW had a better rate and there wasn't even a comparison. BW beat the other
"Newly renovated" hotel in every detail. It was fresher, cleaner, bigger rooms, better & friendlier service. I certainly can't say enough and the staff took care of every need and want. We enjoyed the pool, but if there was anything bad, the hot tub was a little too hot for us. Enjoyed our 2 night stay and i hope you get the same. Will certainly look them up on our next stay. GREAT !

Room Tip: Our room was near the pool which was a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCrescenzi_1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
George....your honest review of our hotel was very much appreciated. We're pleased to have been "the best of your week" and are happy that you found the price, product and service to be top notch. We look forward to welcoming you back....please bring lots of friends next time and we'll bring the temperature of the hot tub down a couple of degrees!! Keep smiling and enjoy the remainder of this beautiful summer season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

all was good, but unfortunately we stayed here so that our kids could enjoy the pool, but it isn't okay for children under 5 - too deep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnCrescenzi_1, General Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you Tricia M for the great title of your review. We're fortunate to have the newest beds of any hotel in North Bay at this time and continue to receive very favourable comments about the great nights' sleep that our guests are enjoying. In regards to our swimming pool being too deep for the little ones....we're sorry that they weren't able to enjoy it as desired. We often see very young children in the pool with "water wings" and those donut type floatation devices, while accompanied by their parents or older siblings. We do have an inventory of a dozen "noodles" for our guests to borrow from the Front Desk (for use in the pool), but recognize that they may not be the most appropriate for those who are not experienced swimmers. In the interests of presenting options, you might not know that the Best Western is located exactly a half kilometer from Sunset Beach (and park). The sandy beach area is a popular attraction for hotel guests and locals where young children are often seen splashing around in the very shallow water, building sand castles and burying mom and dad in the warm sand. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 700 Lakeshore Dr., North Bay, Ontario P1A 2G4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in North Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IT'S OFFICIAL... The newly installed SIMMONS PILLOW TOP MATTRESSES, Wireless High Speed Internet, 37" LCD TVs in all guestrooms, FARINA RISTORANTE, FAB Lounge, new BUSINESS CENTRE, new fitness equipment and onsite guest laundry are a hit!! Over 2 million dollars has been spent since 2010 upgrading our public areas and guestrooms. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, we invite you to visit the refreshed Best Western Hotel and Conference Centre, located directly across from beautiful Lake Nipissing and only minutes to downtown North Bay's shopping, dining and entertainment options. We look forward to welcoming you soon to North Bay's Largest Conference Hotel where guests can earn Air Miles Reward Miles, Best Western Reward Points or Airline Miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre Ontario
North Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.