We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean pleasant place, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Lakeshore Dr., North Bay, Ontario P1A 2G4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #10 of 26 hotels in North Bay
GreenLeadersGold level
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Clean pleasant place, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I stay here lots for business and its always, clean comfortable, in room fridge, great internet and it has large vehicle parking. I've never eaten here, I hear its good but visiting "Churchill's" restaurant is a must. Its about a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Hello Ramblings, I appreciate your kind words about the Best Western North Bay. We are fortunate to be located near some great restaurants. Thank you for your comment about our free high-speed internet. I am happy to let you know that we will soon be offering wireless internet in all our guest rooms as well as the wired option. Please be sure to give us a call the next time you need to stay in North Bay. We look forward to seeing you again. Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    60
    22
    16
    10
See reviews for
38
33
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Lisekard
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

All was amazing, great service overall. The pool was clean and restaurant food was also great...menu has alot of choices...pasta is great. New beds in all the rooms. super comfty...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Dear Angellove, thank you for your kind review. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed Farina Ristorante during your stay. I have to agree, the pasta is great! I am happy that you enjoyed our new beds. They really are comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time you are in North Bay. Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Although recently renovated, the walls still seem very thin. Unfortunately, it makes it difficult to work or relax when you can constantly hear doors slamming, water running, children yelling and running down the hallway and dogs barking. The rooms don't have amazingly DON'T have wifi and the ethernet cord in there is 3 ft long. There is also no extra plug for a laptop unless I crawl under the dusty desk and start unplugging things. The ancient TV is horrible quality and has no A/V ports for anything so you are stuck with the poor reception for cable. The hotel vaguely smells like stale smoke still (especially the lobby) and the whole room in general needs a good cleaning. Also, for some reason there is no microwave, just a fridge.

Bottom line: if you're just here for a day or two for a tournament with the family, I think it's fine. If you're here for a vacation or business and you're going to be in your room for any length of time, I recommend finding a more comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Best Western North Bay. It is always great to receive honest feedback from our guests. It is because of guest feedback that we are able to make the necessary changes to our product such as reducing the number of smoking rooms on site and replacing all our beds with new pillow top mattresses and duvets. Comments about the internet service has prompted our management team to look at ways to improve the service to our guest rooms.
We do hope that you will stay with us the next time you are in North Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Stayed here March 2011 with two young children and my dog. The rooms were very clean and a good size. Pool area is very nice, no towels available though(can get them at front desk). The staff was great, very helpful and even called to make sure the room was OK and see if we needed anything. Location was great for hubby to go fishing, right across the road from the lake. Would stay here again for sure!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Best Western North Bay. We are please to have had you as our guest and hope to have you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

2 words Great Beds. Lots of staff working also I really like properties that have a lot of staff on site even on weekends .I guess my only cplaint is that the high speed is wired not wifi.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. Our new pillow top mattresses are amazing. We have received wonderful compliments about them. It is because of our guest reviews and comments that we are able to make the necessary changes in our product and services. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Stayed at this Best Western on Tuesday 28 December 2010 for 1 night. Check in was fast & efficient; room was clean and spacious. Great staff willing to help and assist in any way possible. Room had a larger than usual fridge, and a microwave. I will stay here again. The only negative was there was no complimentary breakfast as I have experienced at other Best Westerns ( and the majority of other hotels I have stayed at)... just a discount coupon for the on site resteraunt; not a big deal though. Wire hig speed is also available.

Booking tip: when I booked this hotel I found that the prices varied by as much as $35.00 depending on which option I selected ( CAA membership, best rate, internet rate etc).. the internet rate was by far the cheapest.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
We appreciate your thorough and complimentary review of the Best Western North Bay. We hope that you will continue to have us as your hotel of choice in North Bay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

We stayed here for a local hockey tournament. While the room was clean and the hotel was convenient to stores, attractions, and arenas, I can't say much else nice about it.

The hotel is in the middle of a much needed renovation. The lobby was ripped up getting new tiles when we were there.

We were a family of four staying in a two double bed room. The beds, being doubles, were very small for two people. The matresses didn't help us to sleep any better either -- they transmitted motion from the other person in the bed very easily. The sheets were also past due for replacement. My wife slipped and fell one morning in the shower, which had nothing on the floor to prevent slipping. The heating unit was noisy and required constant adjustment of the temperature knob as the outside temperature changed throughout the day. There was no thermostat control. In 2010? Hello, the 1960s are calling -- they want their heater back. The swimming pool smelled very strongly of chlorine. The smell burned the sinuses. The pool water wasn't too clear so I didn't go for a swim, but my daughter did and indicated it burned the eyes. My guess (as a pool owner) is the Ph was wildly out of whack. Pools towels were not provided, but apparently you could go to the desk to ask.

Room and hotel entrance access was through electronic key cards. We had three, one each for my wife and I and another for my son. They constantly failed and required visits to the front desk to re-program. The staff initially blamed me for perhaps putting my card in my wallet in the vicinity of other cards, but they failed just as quickly when I started putting the card in another pocket well away from my wallet. Other members of our hockey team had the same observation. I was locked out of the hotel on a visit to the parking lot and I started carrying all three cards when I left the room so that one might work when I returned. Over two days, I made three trips to the front desk to get cards reprogrammed, but I could have made more if I went as often as they failed.

Lastly, the rate was exhorbitant for a hotel of this quality. I heard from my team manager that hotels often soak hockey teams when there is a tournament in town. I had a look on some online booking web sites and think she was right. We paid much higher rates.

The fitness centre was the smallest I've ever seen in a hotel of this size, with one elliptical, one treadmill, and one universal weight machine. Towels were not provided. Like the pool, I guess guests are expected to go and ask.

Only stay here if you can get a really good rate!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMBWNB, Manager at BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2010
The management of the Best Western North Bay Hotel and Conference Centre was distressed to read your review and would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such candid feedback. By reading each of these reviews we are able to recognize areas in need of improvement and take the appropriate actions to correct them. We do hope that you would reconsider and stay with us again in the future. Our renovations are almost complete with the arrival of our new beds and linens this week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 700 Lakeshore Dr., North Bay, Ontario P1A 2G4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > North Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in North Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in North Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IT'S OFFICIAL... The newly installed SIMMONS PILLOW TOP MATTRESSES, Wireless High Speed Internet, 37" LCD TVs in all guestrooms, FARINA RISTORANTE, FAB Lounge, new BUSINESS CENTRE, new fitness equipment and onsite guest laundry are a hit!! Over 2 million dollars has been spent since 2010 upgrading our public areas and guestrooms. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, we invite you to visit the refreshed Best Western Hotel and Conference Centre, located directly across from beautiful Lake Nipissing and only minutes to downtown North Bay's shopping, dining and entertainment options. We look forward to welcoming you soon to North Bay's Largest Conference Hotel where guests can earn Air Miles Reward Miles, Best Western Reward Points or Airline Miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre Ontario
North Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN North Bay Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.